Making Pretty
8%
off

Making Pretty

3.54 (591 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, Making Pretty is a raw, romantic coming-of-age about the complexities of family, the boundaries of love, and the realities of growing up in a culture that prizes beauty above nearly anything else.

Montana and her older sister Arizona have always been a team, sticking together through their plastic surgeon dad's string of divorces--and his not-so-subtle belief that "surgical assists" can be an asset to any woman. But when Arizona comes home from college with a boob job, the rift between the sisters feels insurmountable.

As summer in New York City heats up and Montana and Arizona grow apart, Montana befriends wild, bold, 23-year-old Karissa, who encourages her to live in Technicolor and chase new experiences--like a cute boy in the park. Bernardo becomes a beautiful distraction, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, she understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 28mm | 430g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062294083
  • 9780062294081
  • 1,616,849

Back cover copy

Montana and her sister, Arizona, are named after the mountainous states their mother left them for. But Montana is a New York City girl through and through, and as the city heats up, she's stepping into the most intense summer of her life.

With Arizona wrapped up in her college world and their father distracted by yet another divorce, Montana's been immersing herself in an intoxicating new friendship with a girl from her acting class. Karissa is bold, imperfectly beautiful, and unafraid of being vulnerable. She's everything Montana would like to become. But the friendship with Karissa is driving a wedge between Montana and her sister, and the more of her own secrets Karissa reveals, the more Montana has to wonder if Karissa's someone she can really trust.

In the midst of her uncertainty, Montana finds a heady distraction in Bernardo. He's serious and spontaneous, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, Montana understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?
show more

Review quote

"An authentic, heartfelt read about the power of truth and the beauty of self-discovery."--Sarah Ockler on Life by Committee
show more

Rating details

591 ratings
3.54 out of 5 stars
5 29% (170)
4 26% (152)
3 25% (149)
2 12% (73)
1 8% (47)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X