Magpie's Song

Magpie's Song

4.26 (45 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the slums of BrightStone, Moon Children are worth less than the scrap they must collect to survive. It doesn't matter that these abandoned half-breeds are part-Meridian with their ancestors hailing from the technologically advanced city that floats above the once-thriving, now plague-ridden BrightStone. Instead they are rejected by both their ancestral societies and forced to live on the outskirts of civilization, joining clans simply to stay alive. Not to mention their role as Tithe, leading the city's infected citizens deep into the Pits where their disease can be controlled. Nineteen-year-old Raggy Maggy is no different, despite the mysterious heart-shaped panel that covers her chest. Or at least she wasn't... Not until her chance discovery of a Meridian-built clockwork dragon--and its murdered owner. When the Inquestors policing the city find Maggy at the scene of the crime, she quickly turns into their prime suspect. Now she's all anyone can talk about. Even her clan leader turns his back on her, leading her to rely on an exiled doctor and a clanless Moon Child named Ghost to keep her hidden. In return, all she has to do is help them find a cure for the plague they believe was not exactly accidental. Yet doing so might mean risking more than just her life. It also might be the only key to uncovering the truth about the parents--and the past--she knows nothing about.show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 139.7 x 215.9 x 18.54mm | 412.77g
  • Allison Pang
  • English
  • 0998534315
  • 9780998534312
  • 664,785

Review quote

"Vivid, thrilling, clever, and imaginative, MAGPIE'S SONG is a genre-bending gem built around a kickass heroine and a compelling, beautifully-wrought SF/fantasy world you'll want to explore further. Allison Pang's talent is on every page. Fans of Pierce Brown and Wesley Chu will love MAGPIE'S SONG." --Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT "Pang has crafted a beautiful world with a ticking mechanical heart and a story that flies with fast-paced action. Utterly enchanting!" - Laura Bickle, critically acclaimed author of NINE OF STARSshow more

Rating details

45 ratings
4.26 out of 5 stars
5 44% (20)
4 38% (17)
3 18% (8)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X