Madam, Will You Talk?
23%
off

Madam, Will You Talk? : The modern classic by the queen of romantic suspense

4.08 (7,203 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.08 (7,203 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 5-8 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'The terrible thirsty heat of the Provencal summer, the noise of the cicadas, the dust of the country buses . . . an excellent tale of mystery' The Times

It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for.

Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.


'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 24mm | 220g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444711202
  • 9781444711202
  • 19,375

Review Text

A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.
show more

Review quote

The tension mounts steadily until it reaches breaking-point ... an excellent tale of mystery. * The Times * She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan * A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans *
show more

About Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.
show more

Rating details

7,203 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 37% (2,695)
4 38% (2,725)
3 21% (1,495)
2 3% (230)
1 1% (58)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X