Lydia's Party

Lydia's Party

2.89 (866 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An exquisite and profound tale for fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen
Glowingly reviewed everywhere from "O, The Oprah Magazine" and "Good Housekeeping "to sites across the blogosphere, "Lydia s Party" sparks a-ha moments and heartfelt conversations about friendship, regrets, and ambitions. Margaret Hawkins s earlier books, all published by small presses, have gained her a devoted following, but this gem of a novel will introduce her to the wider audience she deserves.
Lydia is hosting her Bleak Midwinter Bash, a late Christmas party that has become an annual tradition. Her guests six friends who bonded twenty years ago over art, dogs, and their budding careers and romances think they know everything about one another, but tonight Lydia prepares to shock them with a devastating announcement."
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 28mm | 226g
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0143126113
  • 9780143126119
  • 1,443,497

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

About Margaret Hawkins

MARGARET HAWKINS is the author of two previous novels and a memoir. She is a Senior Lecturer at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Hawkins lives in Chicago.
show more

Review quote

Praise for "Lydia's Party "by Margaret Hawkins:
Captivating . . . There is much to enjoy in Hawkins s incisive observations . . . You ll like these women, . . . [and] the story keeps you reading as it examines the gap between how we think we build our destinies . . . and how we actually build them.
" 0, The Oprah Magazine"
A tender and clear-eyed look at the tangles in women s lives.
"Good Housekeeping" (A New Book Pick)
This book feels like what lifelong friendships really are.
Minneapolis "Star Tribune "(Also Picked as A Fave of the Moment )
With shades of "Mrs. Dalloway, " much of the novel takes place in a day, as Lydia prepares for her annual winter party. . . . Hawkins s novel is beautiful . . . and the plot takes a number of unexpected, hugely enjoyable turns. It is this kind of book: the kind one buys extra copies of to pass out to friends.
"Kirkus Reviews "(Starred Review)
Impossible to put down. The characters are quirky, endearing, and relatable. . . . Lydia s unrelenting examination of her own life forces the readers to reflect on their own choices and passions and that is what makes this book a must-read.
DolceDolce.com
Plot is one of the great strengths of the book, beyond the expert characterization of these women. The story takes several entirely unpredictable and yet satisfying turns. . . . [A] lovely life-affirming tale, making this meditation on mortality and friendship a pure delight for readers.
Bookreporter.com
Hawkins s smart, crackling novel is a snowy, midwestern "Mrs. Dalloway," with Elizabeth Berg-ish charm and Hawkins s own edgy, artfully particularized humor. . . . As Lydia and her circle pull together in her time of need, Hawkins considers the profound gift of friendship and the ways art and life converge to forge meaning and preserve truth and memories.
"Booklist "
Sumptuous . . . a repast that s alternately uncomfortable and soothing, weepy and jubilant, evocative and realistic. Party host and art teacher Lydia is having her annual dinner for her women friends. . . . In a quirky, impossibly magical and sweetly charming twist, Lydia helps guide them all to forgiveness.
"Publishers Weekly"
Hawkins s protagonists are well drawn and interesting.
"Library Journal"
Like Carol Shields s "Larry s Party," a completely winning book about friendship, an elusive and almost never written about subject, which makes this a rare achievement.
Diane Johnson, author of "Le Divorce "and "Flyover Lives"
"Lydia s Party "is a brilliant story, so perfectly told, the characters instantly recognizable and unforgettable, that they take up residence in one s heart. It is destined to be a classic for this generation.
Jo-Ann Mapson, author of "Solomon s Oak, Finding Casey, "and the forthcoming "Owen's Daughter"
"Lydia s Party "is a literary celebration of dark secrets, enduring friendship, and the slow crawl of regret. A luminous reflection that will linger long after the last page, Margaret Hawkins s latest novel will make you examine what and whom you hold most dear while you savor each perfect sentence.
Sally Koslow, author of "The Widow Waltz"
With wit and insight Margaret Hawkins gives us a sharp, soulful look at love and regret, women s friendship, art, aging, and ambition, and what it means to live a life. At once funny and moving, "Lydia s Party "is a pure delight.
Rilla Askew, author of "Fire in Beulah"
Hawkins third novel is a beautiful evocation of a death at midlife at once elegant, melancholy and wise.
With shades of"Mrs. Dalloway, "much of the novel takes place in a day, as Lydia prepares for her annual winter party. The same group of women has been coming for years (except Norris, who makes barely plausible excuses), and Lydia worries over the usual: the food, the wine, the weather. But this will be her last party; she s just been diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer and has but a few weeks to live. She struggles over a letter she plans to give each friend after dinner; a letter she writes and edits and is dissatisfied with because how can you explain all the disappointments of a lifetime in an uplifting farewell? She teaches art at a community college in the suburbs of Chicago, but really she wanted Norris life. Years ago, Lydia and Norris were colleagues, but thanks to Lydia s mentorship (and, admittedly, Norris own icy determination), Norris has become a world-renowned painter while Lydia gave up long ago. And Lydia had men, too many of the wrong kind. And she had fears of making the wrong choices and so made too few important ones. And now she knows it is too late for anything; there is no more time to be the person she imagined. As she prepares for the party, her guests get ready as well: Elaine is bitter and alone and spreads acrimony like ruined pixie dust; still beautiful Maura loses herself in reveries of Roy, the married man she devoted her life to for a once-a-week date; Celia is married with a teenage son but is perpetually surprised that family life is so tedious. And then there is Norris, whom everybody hates but Lydia, and even Lydia hates her a little bit, too. Hawkins smartly continues the novel after the party, after Lydia s death, after Norris begins a grand portrait series of the women, and the plot takes a number of unexpected, hugely enjoyable turns.
It is this kind of book: the kind one buys extra copies of to pass out to friends.
" Kirkus Reviews "(Starred Review)"
show more

Rating details

866 ratings
2.89 out of 5 stars
5 6% (50)
4 21% (185)
3 38% (332)
2 26% (225)
1 9% (74)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X