Lug, Dawn Of The Ice Age
11%
off

Lug, Dawn Of The Ice Age

3.89 (96 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood caveboy perfect for fans of Ice Age and Happy Feet.

Lug is a caveboy who would rather paint than club other caveboys. The clan even mocks him, calling him "Little Slug." Like all the other caveboys, Lug must enter the contest to become the clan's next Big Man and attempt to catch the Biggest Beast--even though he would much rather spend his days painting in his secret art cave.

When Lug is banished for failing to catch a jungle llama, he thinks he is alone in the world but finds others who believe in him: his clanmate Stony, and a new friend, Echo, a girl from a rival clan who can talk to animals and just may be prehistory's first vegetarian/animal rights activist. Together they face even bigger challenges--Lug discovers the Ice Age is coming and he has to bring the warring clans together to save them not only from the freeze but also from a particularly unpleasant migrating pride of saber-toothed tigers. It's no help that the elders are cavemen who can't seem to get the concept of climate change through their thick skulls.

With funny, anachronistic humor and charming characters, Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age is sure to be a hit with many readers.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 186 pages
  • 147 x 216 x 22.86mm | 308g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1 Illustrations, unspecified
  • 1606845136
  • 9781606845134
  • 1,270,938

Review quote

"A Stone Age comedy features a caveboy guilty of 'uncavemanlike behavior.'
The summary exile that Lug earns by failing to capture a 'jungle llama' to ride in an upcoming headstone match turns out to be a blessing in disguise, as it leads to a meeting with Hamela--a member of the rival Boar Rider clan who has turned from the customary all-dodo diet to vegetarianism. She in turn introduces him to Woolly, an errant young mammoth atop whom he goes on to lead his headstone team to victory. Lug lands in further hot water when his forbidden cave paintings are discovered--but following the arrival of snow, a pride of saber tooth tigers and more mammoths, he manages to convince at least some of his simpleminded people that big changes are coming. By the end, he even has them using fire ('storm light'). The animals all talk (except the dodos), and Lug's frog-licking proto-hippie sidekick leads a notably rock-headed supporting cast. Happily, characters speak in complete sentences and with standard syntax, and the banter is nicely snappy. Preliminary sketches indicate that suitably primitive art will accompany the story.
Fred Flintstone would feel right at home in this light-as-pumice comedy." --Kirkus Reviews

--Journal
show more

About David Zeltser

David Zeltser's upcoming books include LUG--book 2 (Egmont, 2015) and NINJA BABY (Chronicle Books, 2015). David also writes screenplays and performs improv comedy. After graduating from Harvard, he worked with all kinds of wild animals, including owls, rhinos, sharks and ad executives. He now lives in Santa Cruz, California, with his family and many barking sea lions. Check out all of David's books and adventures onwww.davidzeltser.com, Facebook and Twitter @davidzeltser."
show more

Rating details

96 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 40% (38)
4 23% (22)
3 28% (27)
2 6% (6)
1 3% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X