The Lover's Knot

The Lover's Knot : A Someday Quilts Mystery

3.65 (1,231 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Book #1 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series In the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards, a debut quilting mystery Nell Fitzgerald is thrilled when she receives a gorgeous handmade quilt in a lover's knot pattern from her grandmother Eleanor as an engagement gift. Her joy is short-lived, however, when her fiancé announces he's calling off the wedding. Heartbroken, 25-year-old Nell flees New York City for her grandmother's home in quaint Archers Rest. In this small town Eleanor's life revolves around her quilt shop, Someday Quilts, and the members of the shop's quilting circle. When the body of a local handyman known for his flirting is found in the quilt shop, murdered with a pair of quilting scissors, Nell finds herself drawn into the case, and drawn to the handsome police chief. As a pattern of clues begins to emerge, one of the prime suspects is Nell's ex-fiancé, whose arrival in Archers Rest seems suspicious. The ladies of the quilting circle continue to piece together their quilts as Nell unravels the mystery. For quilters and mystery lovers alike, The Lover's Knot is a delightful and promising debut.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 293 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 16mm | 254g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0452289793
  • 9780452289796
  • 305,567

Review quote

?O?Donohue debuts her Someday Quilts Mystery series with a promising story about women's friendships and quilting. It is a pleasant, even a gentle read?except for the cheating boyfriend and the murder. Nell Fitzgerald is excited to receive a beautiful, handmade lover?s-knot quilt as an engagement gift from her grandmother, Eleanor. But then things begin to go horribly wrong. Her fianc?, Ryan, suddenly decides to call off the wedding. Nell leaves New York to visit her grandmother in the small town of Archers Rest. As the grieving Nell becomes acquainted with her grandmothers? quilt shop, called Someday Quilts, and her circle of friends, two more unfortunate events take place: her grandmother breaks her leg, and the body of a flirtatious handyman is found in the quilt shop. Nell turns her attention to solving the mystery, while the quilters begin to teach her about their art. Fiction about quilting is popular right now, and fans will make the connection to Jennifer Chiaverini's "Elm Cree
show more

About Clare O'Donohue

CLARE O'DONOHUE is a freelance television writer/producer. She produced television's most popular quilting show, Simply Quilts, on HGTV, and she is currently producing and writing for a variety of television crime shows, including Forensic Files. This is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

1,231 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 20% (244)
4 35% (427)
3 37% (458)
2 7% (91)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X