Loveboat, Taipei

Loveboat, Taipei

3.81 (5,440 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as "an intense rush of rebellion and romance" by #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber, this romantic and layered Own Voices debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a dazzling, fun-filled romp.

"Our cousins have done this program," Sophie whispers. "Best kept secret. Zero supervision."

And just like that, Ever Wong's summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.

But not every student is quite what they seem:

Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance.

Rick Woo is the Yale-bound child prodigy bane of Ever's existence whose perfection hides a secret.

Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.

And under sexy Xavier Yeh's shell is buried a shameful truth he'll never admit.

When these students' lives collide, it's guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

"A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice." --Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

"Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent. An intense rush of rebellion and romance." --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Fresh as a first kiss." --Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

Fresh, fun, heartfelt, and totally addictive, a story about finding your place--and your people--where you least expected. --Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of the William C. Morris Award finalist Conviction
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 158.75 x 177.8 x 31.75mm | 317.51g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Library Edition
  • 1094106461
  • 9781094106465

Review quote

"A poignant and honest examination of first love, family obligations, and that strange place between high school and college, where we don't quite know who we are."

-- "Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author"
show more

Rating details

5,440 ratings
3.81 out of 5 stars
5 27% (1,495)
4 38% (2,085)
3 25% (1,365)
2 7% (375)
1 2% (120)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X