Love and a Promise

Love and a Promise : A heartrending saga of family, duty and a terrible choice

4.06 (160 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.03

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

LOVE AND A PROMISE - a heartrending Liverpool saga from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Kate Thompson.Maddy Kiernan knows her situation is desperate. With her parents dead, her brother Thomas is left as guardian to Maddy and her sister Carmel. But Thomas has plans that don't include his sisters and his reckless ambition could put all their futures at risk. Sharp-witted and strong-willed, Maddy knows it is she who must assume responsibility for the fragile young Carmel.When Thomas deserts Ireland for Liverpool, Maddy realises she has little option but to follow. Within days the girls are destitute, their precious savings gone. Even when Maddy finds a position with an elderly widow, Thomas's aspirations threaten their security. And then Maddy is faced with a terrible choice - between love and a promise...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 112 x 172 x 30mm | 240.41g
  • Headline Publishing Group
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0747267103
  • 9780747267102
  • 523,469

Review quote

'A page-turning and beautifully written novel. The loves and tragedies of the Kiernan siblings will keep you hooked until the very end' Irish World * Irish World * 'A very enjoyable, realistic tale of a bygone era' Bradford Telegraph & Argus * Bradford Telegraph & Argus * Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning * Daily Express * A compelling read * Woman's Own * A vivid portrayal of life * Best * Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' * Woman's Weekly *show more

About Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.www.lynandrewsbooks.co.ukwww.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooksTwitter: @LynSagaAuthorshow more

Rating details

160 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 45% (72)
4 28% (44)
3 19% (31)
2 5% (8)
1 3% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X