Love and Other Foreign Words

Love and Other Foreign Words

3.85 (6,270 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age--a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all. Can anyone be truly herself--or truly in love--in a language that's not her own? Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue--the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn't always like, and the best friend who hasn't said a word--at least not in a language Josie understands.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 331 pages
  • 150 x 211 x 30mm | 454g
  • Dial Books for Young Readers,US
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0803740514
  • 9780803740518
  • 282,470

Review quote

Praise for Love and Other Foreign Words "I'm about to GUSH, absolutely GUSH, about Love and Other Foreign Words. . . . It's beautifully written, and it touches the heart of the high school (and let's be honest, adult) life experience: figuring out where you belong and what that means about who you are. . . . A standout . . . I loved every single moment, and I can't recommend [it] enough!"--Lisa Parkin for the Huffington Post's "Top 12 Young Adult Books of 2014" "Cracklingly smart . . . With impeccable clarity--and hilarity . . . This clever read will satisfy fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Stephanie Perkins." --Booklist "Impossibly winning." --The Wall Street Journal «"McCahan's sharp-witted first-person narrative will keep readers laughing." --Publisher's Weekly (starred review) "Josie's a rarity in teen literature, a genuine original. . . . Trying to control what can't be controlled, wanting and fearing love, she's one of us. Lively characters and a satisfying plot foil reader expectations in the best possible way."--Kirkus Reviews "Readers in the mood for serious laughs need look no further . . . [Josie Sheridan's] analytical, overthinking narration and knack for delivering truly lacerating quips . . . will have readers sticking by her side." --Publisher's Weekly, Best Summer Books 2014 "A true-blue lovable weirdo, [Josie is] the type of character I really enjoy seeing . . . [She is] authentically herself, even when being herself gets in her into trouble." --HelloGiggles
show more

About Erin McCahan

Erin McCahan is an Ohio-dwelling, unabashedly Styx-loving, full-time writer who enjoys a variety of hobbies, excluding role-playing, sticky things, and karaoke. She lives in New Albany, near Columbus, with her husband.
show more

Rating details

6,270 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 31% (1,934)
4 36% (2,243)
3 24% (1,522)
2 7% (419)
1 2% (152)

Our customer reviews

Did I enjoy this book: I loved this book. It is funny, fast, sweet, exasperating. Wonderful. This is a book that I wanted to just sit down and read. I didn�¢??t want to do anything else while I was reading it. I just wanted to enjoy it. The dialogue reminded me a lot of Gilmore Girls. I imagined Josie and Stu and her parents speaking rather fast and always quick with a retort. I love Josie. She is funny, witty, crazy intelligent, loving, caring. There were quite a few times that I laughed out loud because of what she said. At times, I had a hard time believing she was 15-almost-16. Sometimes I thought she was 12. Other times, 30. But I think that fit her character beautifully. I also enjoyed the fact that although she is a genius, she was a stereotypical nerd. She has friends; she plays sports. She does have some quirks. But all-in-all, she is a fantastic character with a great voice. All of the other characters added to Josie�¢??s world. Some really understood her. Others tried to. Kate kind of bothered me for most of the book. I thought she acted more like a spoiled teen than a woman in her late twenties. Some of things she did rubbed me the wrong way. But, that�¢??s Kate. I think it fit her as well. (I know that sounds strange, but that�¢??s the best I can do.) Geoff bugged me for most of the book. Stu was a sweetheart. I liked him from the beginning. Josie�¢??s parents cracked me up. They just rolled with Josie. They were really funny. My favorite thing about this book was the dialogue. I could hear it. I laughed with it. Just fantastic. Would I recommend it: Absolutely. I think I will be purchasing my own physical copy Love and Other Foreign Words. I know I will definitely reread this one. (I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.)show more
by Chrissy
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X