Love Anthony

Love Anthony

3.94 (26,114 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Electronic book text
By (author) 

List price: US$12.98

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Remember how you couldn't put down Still Alice? Well, clear your schedule-because you're going to feel the same way' Jodi Picoult
From the bestselling author of Still Alice and Every Note Played comes a heartfelt novel about friendship and a mother coping with the loss of her autistic son.

Olivia Donatelli's dream of a 'normal' life was shattered when her son, Anthony, was diagnosed with autism at age three. He didn't speak. He hated to be touched. He almost never made eye contact. And just as Olivia was starting to realise that happiness and autism could coexist, Anthony died. Now she's alone in a cottage on Nantucket, separated from her husband, desperate to understand the meaning of her son's short life, when a chance encounter with another woman facing her own loss brings Anthony alive again for Olivia in a most unexpected way. In a piercing story about motherhood, love and female friendship, Lisa Genova offers us two unforgettable women on the verge of change who discover the small but exuberant voice that helps them both find the answers they need.

Fans of The Reason I Jump and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time will love Lisa Genova's story: always authentic and utterly moving.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text | 400 pages
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 1471113280
  • 9781471113284

Review quote

"Autism is like a Zen "koan"--a riddle without answers.., with effects that are myriad, mysterious, and confounding. The same could be said about "love". This book upended my perceptions of both conditions, leaving me feeling with my mind and thinking with my heart. Everyone should read this book!" --Jamie Ford, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet" "Lisa Genova has essentially created her own genre, the 'Lisa Genova' novel, in which complicated topics become accessible to readers through beautifully-drawn characters and profound, human-scale stories." Love Anthony" dares to ask enormous questions, the big questions that bedevil all of us. Better yet, Genova has the wisdom to know which ones can be answered, and which cannot." --Laura Lippman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "And When She Was Good" "Love Anthony broke my heart in the best way! I read it spellbound and breathless. If you don't know Lisa Genova's work already, meet your new favorite writer, storyteller, enchanter." --Heidi W. Durrow, author of "The Girl Who Fell from the Sky", Winner of the Bellwether Prize "Genova's deep and empathic insight once again has blown me away -- particularly her intensely accurate portrayal of autism parenting. Her characters are complicated people, with unique, believable and, sometimes frustrating struggles. But perhaps Genova's true mastery is in the way she never fails to give us very real people to love." --Susan Senator, author of "Making Peace With Autism" "There's a point in the narrative where one of the characters becomes so engrossed in reading a book that she loses track of time. Readers of Genova's latest excellent offering might very well find the same happening to them."--Kirkus """Lisa Genova's novels ring true. "Love Anthony", like Genova's two previous novels, is beautifully written, and poignant to the point of heartbreak...Anyone who has had even a passing contact with an autistic child will relate.--USA Today Writing with deep empathy and insight, Genova has created an engaging story that fearlessly asks the big questions.--Booklist "With every line of that last letter as written from Anthony, I wept harder ... My heart, my chest, my throat, my face, my eyes pulsated with something so painful, yet so beautiful and happy at the same time ... and if there is one thing every Mom with a child of Autism should know, it's the perspective written within that letter."--T. Elaine, "Goodreads" reviewer "It's not just a good book about autism, it's a good book that happens to have autism in it."--N. McKibben, "Goodreads" reviewer "In "Love Anthony", Olivia is dealing with the death of her autistic young son, Anthony ... Genova's writing is getting stronger with each book, in my opinion. I recommend all of her books. I cannot wait to read anything else she writes."--"Melissa's Book Picks"
show more

About Lisa Genova

Lisa Genova is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Love Anthony, Left Neglected, and Still Alice. Lisa graduated valedictorian from Bates College with a degree in biopsychology and holds a PhD in neuroscience from Harvard University. She travels worldwide speaking about Alzheimer's Disease, traumatic brain injury, and autism. She lives with her family in Massachusetts.
show more

Rating details

26,114 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 31% (8,027)
4 40% (10,465)
3 23% (5,976)
2 5% (1,354)
1 1% (292)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X