Lost Stars
14%
off

Lost Stars

3.5 (325 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 11 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Eleanor & Park meets Perks of Being a Wallflower in this bittersweet 1980's story about love, loss, and a comet that only comes around every ninety-seven years.

When Carrie looks through her telescope, the world makes sense. It's life here on Earth that's hard to decipher. Since her older sister, Ginny, died, Carrie has been floating in the orbit of Ginny's friends, the cool kids, who are far more interested in bands and partying than science.

Carrie's reckless behavior crosses a line, and her father enrolls her in a summer work camp at a local state park. There, Carrie pulls weeds and endures pep talks about the power of hard work. Despite her best efforts to hate the job, Carrie actually feels happy out in nature. And when she meets Dean--warm, thoughtful, and perceptive--she starts to discover that her life can be like her beloved night sky, with black holes of grief for Ginny and dazzling meteors of joy from first love.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 145 x 213 x 28mm | 408g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0544785061
  • 9780544785069

Review quote

"Like the slow rising of the sun after a long, stormy night, Carrie comes out of the darkness and embraces life in this moving real-life problem novel. . . . Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower will dig this book."
--School Library Journal

"Lost Stars is a novel for anyone who's ever grappled with their own place in the universe ."
--PopSugar.com

"Davis makes the 1980s shine..."
--Kirkus

"Carrie may indeed be "lost," but every reader will find themselves in her as she stumbles through this sharp, aching, and finely-observed coming of age story. Just like a real star, this book is a luminous creation held together by its own gravity."
--Una LaMarche, author of Unabrow: Misadventures of a Late Bloomer

"The story of Caraway, a lost girl, unforgettable and unapologetic, who grapples with grief and guilt and anger to find love--and herself. Set to the wistful backdrop of the stars and the blasting beat of the '80s, this novel is a triumph."
-Kate Hattemer, author of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

"Lost Stars the rare novel that successfully captures the complexities of family, friendship, and love in equal measure. Davis's novel is a beautifully written reminder that what has the power to wound us terribly can also heal us."
--Cristina Moracho, author of Althea & Oliver
show more

About Lisa Selin Davis

Lisa Selin Davis, a freelance writer and personal essayist, has written for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Salon, Time, Parenting, Paper, New York Magazine, and many other publications, and currently edits a website for NewsCorp. Lisa lives in Brooklyn with her family.
show more

Rating details

325 ratings
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 20% (65)
4 28% (92)
3 37% (120)
2 12% (38)
1 3% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X