The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets
33%
off

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets

3.94 (6,066 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Miranda Hart contributes a fabulous foreword to this beautiful new edition of the beloved bestseller, published to celebrate its ten year anniversary. Hailed a 'modern vintage classic', The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets was a Richard and Judy Book Club Choice. This special edition also includes a brand new exclusive short story from Eva Rice, The Moth Trap, which offers a glimpse into the cocktail party where Penelope's parents, Archie and Talitha, first met.Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, this is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock'n'roll era.Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love, but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn't Elvis Presley, a vast but crumbling ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte's sardonic cousin Harry...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 40mm | 300g
  • Headline Publishing Group
  • HEADLINE REVIEW
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • yes
  • 0755325508
  • 9780755325504
  • 102,737

About Eva Rice

Eva Rice has written five novels and one non-fiction book. Her third novel, The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets, was a Richard and Judy Book Club Choice. Her latest novel is Love Notes for Freddie. She is married to a musician and has three children. She lives in London.show more

Review quote

This tenth anniversary edition of Rice's modern classic is a treat for fans of Nancy Mitford and Elizabeth Jane Howard. Stylishly written with a touch of whimsical charm * The Lady * A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations * Vogue * So good we could hardly speak * Observer *show more

Rating details

6,066 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 31% (1,898)
4 39% (2,363)
3 24% (1,426)
2 5% (302)
1 1% (77)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X