The Lost Apothecary
11%
off

The Lost Apothecary

3.88 (41,827 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Named Most Anticipated of 2021 by Newsweek, Good Housekeeping, Hello! magazine, Oprah.com, Bustle, Popsugar, Betches, Sweet July, and GoodReads!

March 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

"A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A legacy of poison and revenge. Welcome to The Lost Apothecary...

Hidden in the depths of eighteenth-century London, a secret apothecary shop caters to an unusual kind of clientele. Women across the city whisper of a mysterious figure named Nella who sells well-disguised poisons to use against the oppressive men in their lives. But the apothecary's fate is jeopardized when her newest patron, a precocious twelve-year-old, makes a fatal mistake, sparking a string of consequences that echo through the centuries.

Meanwhile in present-day London, aspiring historian Caroline Parcewell spends her tenth wedding anniversary alone, running from her own demons. When she stumbles upon a clue to the unsolved apothecary murders that haunted London two hundred years ago, her life collides with the apothecary's in a stunning twist of fate--and not everyone will survive.

With crackling suspense, unforgettable characters and searing insight, The Lost Apothecary is a subversive and intoxicating debut novel of secrets, vengeance and the remarkable ways women can save each other despite the barrier of time.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 30mm | 431g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 0778311015
  • 9780778311010
  • 12,641

Review quote

"The Lost Apothecary is a poisonously good read... An enthralling work of mystery, murder, trust, and betrayal. Set in an atmospheric London, Penner's immersive story flows skillfully from past to present, revealing the heartaches and lost dreams of three captivating main characters in a page-turningly tense drama that surprises right up until the final paragraph." --NPR "You will not be able to put it down." --theSkimm "A juicy spring read." --Katie Couric, Wake-Up Call "An impressively original, deftly crafted and fully entertaining novel from cover to cover, The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner fairly crackles with compelling suspense, features truly memorable characters, and a series of cliffhanger style plot twists and turns." --Midwest Book Review "Engrossing, with rich detail, assured pacing and effective suspense." --Tampa Bay Times "Spellbinding... Like in a well-brewed potion, all the ingredients have been given exactly the right level of care and time, and the result is a novel that simply overwhelms with its delicate spell." --Bookpage "Enthralling... Musical prose... A completely absorbing story of the power of secrets and finding one's way." --Historical Novel Review, A Best Book of the Month Pick "In The Lost Apothecary, Sarah Penner convincingly weaves three heroines and two timelines into one tale of poison, revenge, and the silent network of women helping other women in a world stacked against them.... A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress "Dark, clever, and wickedly fun, The Lost Apothecary is a true page-turner. Sarah Penner has given us a puzzle box of women's lives, betrayal, power, and history. It's a book that slyly asks what any of us deserve and if, sometimes, that might not be a little poison." --Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation "Filled with fascinating historical detail... With gathering intensity, author Sarah Penner builds toward a heart-pounding, satisfying conclusion. A skilled, captivating debut that celebrates the strength of women across the centuries." --Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names "Penner's debut had me completely under its spell. The women of The Lost Apothecary, separated by centuries, seek both revenge and truth in this powerful story. Riveting and utterly original." --Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse "Sarah Penner kept me guessing until the last page of this addictive, atmospheric novel... Meticulously researched, The Lost Apothecary is both a cure for idleness and a recipe for intrigue. Prepare to be consumed by this carefully plotted, propulsive debut." --Amy Meyerson, bestselling author of The Bookshop of Yesterdays "An intoxicating debut, The Lost Apothecary is a riveting tale of poisons and potions and dark deeds in the name of survival." --Heather Webb, bestselling co-author of Meet Me in Monaco "Readers who enjoy Katherine Howe and Susanna Kearsley will be drawn to this promising, fast-paced debut." --Booklist "Intriguing... Readers who enjoy parallel historical/contemporary narratives about women's lives, such as Claire McMillan's The Necklace or Liz Trenow's The Forgotten Seamstress, will enjoy the historical details and mystery in this engrossing tale." --Library Journal
show more

Rating details

41,827 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 27% (11,227)
4 42% (17,706)
3 24% (10,071)
2 6% (2,325)
1 1% (498)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X