Long Summer Day
7%
off

Long Summer Day

4.16 (852 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A great read for fans of PBS's Poldark and Downton Abbey--first in the saga of a man returning from battle to an estate in the pre-WWI English countryside. After serving his country in the Boer War, injured Lieutenant Paul Craddock returns to England to resume civilian life. But things have changed since he joined the Imperial Yeomanry three years ago. His father has died, leaving Paul as heir to a scrap metal business he has no intention of continuing. Instead, he purchases an auctioned-off thirteen-hundred-acre estate in a secluded corner of Devon. Neglected and overgrown, Shallowford becomes the symbol of all that Paul has lost--and a reminder of the gentle place his homeland once was. And here, on this sprawling stretch of land, he will be changed by his love for two women: fiercely independent Grace Lovell, and lovely, demure Claire Derwent. Set in the English countryside in the first part of the previous century--from the long "Edwardian afternoon" following the death of Queen Victoria, to the gathering storm of World War I--Long Summer Day is the story of a man, his family, and a people struggling to adapt to life in a new world. Long Summer Day is the first novel in R. F. Delderfield's saga A Horseman Riding By, which continues with Post of Honour and The Green Gauntlet.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 823 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 52mm | 879.99g
  • Open Road Media
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1497614929
  • 9781497614925
  • 478,737

Review quote

Sheer, wonderful storytelling. Chicago Tribune [Delderfield] built an imposing artistic social history that promises to join those of his great forebears in the long, noble line of the English novel. His narratives belong in a tradition that goes back to John Galsworthy and Arnold Bennett. Life Delderfield s manner is easy, modest, heartwarming. Evening Standard An excellent read. Sunday Express"show more

About R F Delderfield

R. F. Delderfield (1912-1972) was born in South London. On leaving school he joined the Exmouth Chronicle newspaper as a junior reporter and went on to become editor. He began to write stage plays and then became a highly successful novelist, renowned for brilliantly portraying slices of English life. With the publication of his first saga, A Horseman Riding By, he became one of Britain's most popular authors, and his novels have been bestsellers ever since. Many of his works, including the Horseman Riding By series, To Serve Them All My Days, the Avenue novels, and Diana, were adapted for television.show more

Rating details

852 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 41% (347)
4 39% (336)
3 16% (138)
2 3% (24)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X