Lodestar

Lodestar

  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$13.28

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The Depression has hit New York hard. Disgraced seaman, Will Boden, is barely scraping by on the waterfront when he finds himself lured into the slippery world of industrial tycoon and big-game hunter Carl Schenk by the promise of a return to the sea. Against all his instincts about men and ships, Boden joins the luckless crew of misfits aboard The Lodestar, a woefully ill-suited luxury yacht bound for a safari cruise to the High Arctic. Across unforgiving polar seas and the savage tundra, the battle of wills between Boden and his master widens into a series of disasters that propels them and the ship's crew inexorably towards tragedy.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 135 x 216mm
  • Profile Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 186197485X
  • 9781861974853

Review quote

'A fiercely eventful novel.... Combines a powerful sense of elemental place with a keen awareness of the elemental human flaws.' The New York Times.'With his lean but telling style, he is as convincing on seafaring, navigation and weather, as Hemingway on big game hunting or bull fighting.... This is an utterly gripping read, a tale that says a great deal about the mystique of men and the sea even as it entertains.' Publishers Weekly 'A gripping novel of bloodlust, human folly and desperate hope in the tradition of Melville, Conrad and Jack London.' Literary Journal (starred review).show more

About Peter Nichols

Peter Nichols is the author of the hugely successful Sea Change and best-selling Voyage for Madmen. This is his first novel. He is currently at work on a book about Captain Fitzroy who sailed with Drawin around the world. For many years he lived as a professional sailor.show more