Lobizona

Lobizona

4.2 (1,218 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Garber's gorgeous novel combines the wonder of a Hogwarts-style magic school with the Twilight-esque dynamics of a hidden magical species that has strict rules about interacting with the human world. - BOOKLIST (Starred Review) Some people ARE illegal. Lobizonas do NOT exist. Both of these statements are false. Manuela Azul has been crammed into an existence that feels too small for her. As an undocumented immigrant who's on the run from her father's Argentine crime-family, Manu is confined to a small apartment and a small life in Miami, Florida. Until Manu's protective bubble is shattered. Her surrogate grandmother is attacked, lifelong lies are exposed, and her mother is arrested by ICE. Without a home, without answers, and finally without shackles, Manu investigates the only clue she has about her past--a mysterious Z emblem--which leads her to a secret world buried within our own. A world connected to her dead father and his criminal past. A world straight out of Argentine folklore, where the seventh consecutive daughter is born a bruja and the seventh consecutive son is a lobizón, a werewolf. A world where her unusual eyes allow her to belong. As Manu uncovers her own story and traces her real heritage all the way back to a cursed city in Argentina, she learns it's not just her U.S. residency that's illegal. . . .it's her entire existence. "With vivid characters that take on a life of their own, beautiful details that peel back the curtain on Romina's Argentinian heritage, and cutting prose Romina Garber crafts a timely tale of identity and adventure."-Tomi Adeyemi New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 155 x 236 x 36mm | 590g
  • New York
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 1250239125
  • 9781250239129
  • 5,682

Review quote

FALL 2020 KIDS' INDIE NEXT PICK BUZZFEED, 13 Fantasy Novels You'll Love, 17 Summer Must-Reads For Fantasy Lovers, and 38 Great Books To Read This Summer, Recommended By Our Favorite Indie Booksellers THE NERD DAILY, The Most Anticipated 2020 Book Releases BOOK RIOT, 20 Must-Read 2020 SFF Books, Most Anticipated Books of 2020, and Summer 2020 YA Books: Your Reading List is Hot, Hot, Hot

LATINXS IN KID LIT, 2020 Titles By/For/About Latinx TOR.COM, The 25 Most Anticipated SFF Books for the Rest of 2020 SHE READS, Most Anticipated Books of 2020 Spring 2020 OKRA Pick In a timely work of magical realism featuring references to Borges and Garcia Márquez, Garber tackles issues of nationalism, identity, and belonging...This layered novel blends languages and cultures to create a narrative that celebrates perseverance. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (Starred Review) Garber's gorgeous novel combines the wonder of a Hogwarts-style magic school with the Twilight-esque dynamics of a hidden magical species that has strict rules about interacting with the human world. - BOOKLIST (Starred Review) This genre-bending mashup will win over fans of swoon-y, suspenseful paranormal dramas. - KIRKUS A politically exigent #ownvoices novel...with a rich exploration of hybrid identities, it's an astute and absorbing piece of magical realism. - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Lobizona somehow loves its genre while simultaneously tearing it apart with werewolf claws, reveling in earthy magic and righteous anger. - NPR.org Steeped in Argentine folklore of lobizonas (werewolves) and brujas (witches), this is such an important story to tell, and it's also an engrossing read. - BUZZFEED Lobizona by Romina Garber is the kind of book that digs its claws into you and leaves marks so you don't forget what you just experienced...With Lobizona, Romina Garber is poised to become a strong literary voice of this era. - THE NERD DAILY Romina Garber's Lobizona is a young-adult fantasy novel of Argentinian folklore that doesn't pull punches highlighting the plight of many undocumented immigrants in the United States. - USA TODAY Garber, who also writes under Romina Russell (Zodiac), uses exquisite prose to build an elaborate, gorgeous world that is likely to appeal to fans of Anna-Marie McLemore and Elana K. Arnold. Manu's exploration of her identity--both in Miami and elsewhere--reflects how Latinx communities have historically been and continue to be affected by U.S. politics. From the book's harrowing opening, Manu is set on a fantastical journey of self-discovery that subverts and reinterprets familiar fairytale tropes. - SHELF AWARENESS "With vivid characters that take on a life of their own, beautiful details that peel back the curtain on Romina's Argentinian heritage, and cutting prose that shines a light on the difficulties of being the 'other' in America today, Romina Garber crafts a timely tale of identity and adventure that every teenager should read."
-Tomi Adeyemi New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone "Romina Garber has created an enthralling young adult fantasy led by an unforgettable Latinx character Manu. In Manu we find a young girl who not only must contend with the injustice of being undocumented she also discovers a hidden world that may explain her very existence. I fell in love with this world where wolves, witches and magic thrives, all in a rich Latinx setting! Lobizona will surely place Garber alongside the Harry Potters of the world" -Lilliam Rivera, author of Dealing in Dreams and The Education of Margot Sanchez
show more

About Romina Garber

ROMINA GARBER (pen name Romina Russell) is a New York Times and international bestselling author. Originally from Argentina, she landed her first writing gig as a teen--a weekly column for the Miami Herald that was later nationally syndicated--and she hasn't stopped writing since. Her books include Lobizona. When she's not working on a novel, Romina can be found producing movie trailers, taking photographs, or daydreaming about buying a new drum set. She is a graduate of Harvard College and a Virgo to the core.
show more

Rating details

1,218 ratings
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 43% (522)
4 40% (486)
3 13% (162)
2 3% (37)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X