Living the Dream

Living the Dream : A millennial tale about friendship, creative jobs and a quarter-life crisis

3.09 (602 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.73

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Bridget Jones's Diary for the millennial set' - InStyle

'A funny quarter-life crisis tale' Glamour

Perfect for fans of Phoebe Waller-Bridge's FLEABAG and Michaela Coel's CHEWING GUM

A story of office life, two best friends, and the question we are sometimes too scared to ask: What do you really want to do with your life?

Each morning Emma arrives at her desk and types in her password (Fresh_He11). She hates her job.

Emma's best friend, Clementine Twist, arrives home from New York with a broken heart. She moves in with her mum and gets a job in a bar.

As their 30s loom and the freedom and fun of their 20s gives way to the adult pressures, Emma and Clem realise it's time to ramp up their efforts, and think about quitting the day job.

Praise for LIVING THE DREAM

'Entirely relatable' Psychologies

'Lauren Berry is London's Lena Dunham and her whip-smart and endearingly cheeky debut, LIVING THE DREAM, is an entertaining and often laugh-out-loud-funny tale of young cosmopolitan women on the fringes of a glamorous city life that seems just out of reach. Readers, grab your best friends and read this book over cocktails' Julia Fierro, author of The Gypsy Moth Summer and Cutting Teeth

'Plenty of humour to be enjoyed' Daily Mail

'Very witty and incredibly relatable, with an ending that'll make you want to grab life by the horns' Emma Gannon, author of Ctrl Alt Delete: How I Grew Up Online
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 159 x 242 x 30mm | 574g
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0349008981
  • 9780349008981
  • 1,348,503

Review quote

Bridget Jones's Diary for the millennial set * InStyle * A funny quarter-life crisis tale * Glamour * A great holiday read that the 27-year-old me can relate to * Marie Claire * A timely satire on the everlasting problem of personal ambition versus paying the bills with some unexpected happy endings thrown in. * Stylist * Bridget Jones diary for the millenial set . . . a fun, quirky office life novel . . . Both girls realise, as they say goodbye to their 20s, it's time to make some real moves and pursue their dreams. * InStyle * Will strike a chord with anyone who who's survived their twenties . . . Berry paints a millennial world of zero-hours contracts, corporate buzzwords masquerading as inspirational quotes, and moving back in with your parents. * Red * Lauren's Berry's novel is all about the things that happen before your big break, and just how long you should wait for it . . . If you've ever been a twenty-something looking for a way into creative industries, you'll be able to empathise with this book. * The Pool * The tone is light and chirpy, the observations often beady, and there's plenty of humour to be enjoyed * Daily Mail * Whatever our age, sometimes we get stuck and wonder what we're doing with our lives. This is exactly how Emma and Clementine feel. Dare they take the risk and try something new or should they plod along safely? This book is guaranteed to make you Google 'new life opportunities'. * Prima * Cheeky, sweet and serious, this novel has a finger on the pulse of all those real-life niggles; a bonkers boss, supercilious work colleagues, hangovers from hell, disastrous dates, health scares and fears over ageing parents. Entirely relatable. * Psychologies * Funny and clever, it's for any professional woman who's dared to harbour a dream outside an inbox. * Ayisha Malik, author of Sofia Khan is Not Obliged * Very witty and incredibly relatable, with an ending that'll make you want to grab life by the horns. * Emma Gannon, author of Ctrl Alt Delete: How I Grew Up Online * Lauren Berry is London's Lena Dunham and her whip-smart and endearingly cheeky debut, LIVING THE DREAM, is an entertaining and often laugh-out-loud-funny tale of young cosmopolitan women on the fringes of a glamorous city life that seems just out of reach. Readers, grab your best friends and read this book over cocktails. * Julia Fierro, author of The Gypsy Moth Summer and Cutting Teeth * Living the Dream is a Bridget Jones' Diary for the millennial set: funny, fresh, and hard to put down.Much as with one's real life best friends, you'll want to shake Emma and Clementine by their shoulders as often as you'll want to get a drink (or three) with them. * Katie Heaney, author of Dear Emma * Very witty and incredibly relatable, with an ending that'll make you want to grab life by the horns. * Emma Gannon, author of Ctrl Alt Delete: How I Grew Up Online *
show more

About Lauren Berry

Lauren Berry is the founding editor of satirical feminist magazine KnockBack. She has been featured in the Guardian, Observer and Easy Living. Lauren makes a living in branding and journalism under a variety of guises, including the pseudonym Marie Berry. She lives and works in London. Living the Dream is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

602 ratings
3.09 out of 5 stars
5 9% (53)
4 23% (138)
3 42% (255)
2 21% (125)
1 5% (31)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X