The Lives of Desperate Girls
25%
off

The Lives of Desperate Girls

3.22 (94 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

One small, northern community. Two girls gone -- one missing, the other dead. A riveting coming-of-age debut young adult novel for fans of We Were Liars and All the Bright Places. Sixteen-year-old Helen Commanda is found dead just outside Thunder Creek, Ontario. Her murder goes unremarked, except for the fact that it may shed light on the earlier disappearance of Chloe Shaughnessy. Chloe is beautiful, rich and white. Helen is plain, and from the reservation. They had nothing in common except that they were teenage girls from an unforgiving small town. Only Chloe's best friend Jenny Parker knows exactly how unforgiving, but she's keeping some dangerous secrets of her own. Jenny begins looking for answers about Helen's life and death, trying to understand larger questions about her town and her best friend. But what can a teenage girl really accomplish where adults have failed? And how much is Jenny actually complicit in a conspiracy of silence?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 300 pages
  • 147 x 216 x 25mm | 408g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0143198718
  • 9780143198710

About Mackenzie Common

MACKENZIE COMMON is twenty-five years old. Born in Newfoundland, she grew up in a succession of university towns (the family business, as she calls it) across Canada. She spent her adolescent years in Northern Ontario, which fundamentally shaped who she is today. She is currently working on her third degree, a Masters in Law at the University of Cambridge. This is her first novel.
show more

Review quote

"3.5/4... Common has created a powerful story about the quiet racism that exists in many small towns and asks readers to consider why one life is less important than another. Highly recommended for study in high school classrooms." --CM Magazine "Jenny's voice is painful in its brutal honesty and her palpably felt helplessness, and there are layers of tragedy here that bring her to the realization that safe is merely another word for lucky." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

Rating details

94 ratings
3.22 out of 5 stars
5 19% (18)
4 23% (22)
3 29% (27)
2 18% (17)
1 11% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X