Little Friends

Little Friends : An utterly gripping and shocking new psychological suspense from the bestselling author of DAUGHTER

4.02 (2,450 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER

'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher

Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering.

There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer.

Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children.

Until tragedy strikes.

Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true...

'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me

'Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes


What readers are saying about Little Friends:

'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me' ***** Cheryl, Netgalley Reviewer

It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next' ***** Ceecee, Netgalley Reviewer

'Dark and electrifying' ***** Vikki, Netgalley reviewer
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 23mm | 266g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9780718180911
  • 150,919

Review Text

Little Friends is beautifully written and suffused with dread. Jane Shemilt's compelling literary thriller explores with acuity the pressure cooker challenges of adult responsibility, and the assumptions we make. The domestic settings are seductively vivid and the final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny
show more

Review quote

Little Friends is beautifully written and suffused with dread. Jane Shemilt's compelling literary thriller explores with acuity the pressure cooker challenges of adult responsibility, and the assumptions we make. The domestic settings are seductively vivid and the final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying -- Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny Extremely clever, readable and elegant... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best -- #1 eBook bestseller Suzy K Quinn Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!! -- Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me Little Friends taps into your darkest fears. Beautifully told, with a rich cast of characters, I couldn't put it down -- Rachel Blok, author of Under the Ice Little Friends is beautifully written. I was in the kitchen; in the garden; on holiday with all the characters. And I was there at the fallout. Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world - but be careful. It might not be what you think... -- Sunday Times bestseller Jane Corry The plot was breathlessly gripping, with an emotional punch that turned the last couple of chapters into a teary blur -- Sarah Naughton, author of The Hanged Man Rises Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps. Highly recommended! -- Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes A fierce reminder that control is only an illusion * The Book Review Hub * A compelling, disturbing and beautifully told story. I loved Jane's debut Daughter and adored The Drowning Lesson but Jane has topped them both with Little Friends -- Diane Jeffrey, author of He Will Find You Countless psychological thrillers get compared to Big Little Lies; Shemilt's is the real deal * People * Surefire suspense [. . .] riveting creepiness * New York Times * A fantastically clever novel with some wonderful twists * Jo's Book Blog * Praise for Jane Shemilt * - * A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending -- Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal We absolutely loved this -- Richard & Judy Book Club Thrilling * Sunday Express * Builds layer upon layer of tension in a novel you won't be able to put down -- Tess Gerritsen, bestselling author of I Know a Secret Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending * Mail on Sunday * A dark and twisty tale * Heat * Well-written, taut and tense -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail * Taut and thought-provoking * Woman & Home * Gripping to the last page * My Weekly * Suspenseful, brooding * Sunday Mirror * Clever * Sun *
show more

About Jane Shemilt

While working as a GP, Jane Shemilt completed a postgraduate diploma in Creative Writing at Bristol University and went on to study for the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa, gaining both with distinction. Her first novel, Daughter, was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, shortlisted for the Edgar Award and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and went on to become the bestselling debut novel of 2014.

She and her husband, a professor of neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol.
show more

Rating details

2,450 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 36% (870)
4 39% (959)
3 20% (482)
2 4% (89)
1 2% (50)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X