Little Bones
9%
off

Little Bones : A disturbing Irish crime thriller

3.82 (794 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

For fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Alex Barclay, Little Bones introduces Cathy Connolly, a bright young heroine set to take the world of crime fiction by storm.

Attending what seems to be a routine break-in, troubled Detective Garda Cathy Connolly makes a grisly discovery: an old wedding dress - and, concealed in its hem, a baby's bones.

And then the dress's original owner, Lavinia Grant, is found dead in a Dublin suburb.

Searching for answers, Cathy is drawn deep into a complex web of secrets and lies spun by three generations of women.

Meanwhile, a fugitive killer has already left two dead in execution style killings across the Atlantic - and now he's in Dublin with old scores to settle. Will the team track him down before he kills again?

Struggling with her own secrets, Cathy doesn't know dangerous - and personal - this case is about to become...

'Instantly gripping, perfectly paced, and filled with a brilliant cast of characters' Alex Barclay
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 155 x 235 x 30mm | 519g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1785770233
  • 9781785770234
  • 616,800

Review quote

Incredibly engrossing with many twists & turns along the way....I would happily recommend Little Bones to anyone looking for a fast paced crime thriller * Swirl and Thread Blog * The start of an exciting new crime series introducing fearless Detective Cat Connolly.... one of the year's most thrilling reads. * Easons * Little Bones is a fascinating story about old sins and family secrets. I found the book engrossing from the start, thanks to both the interesting story and its characters. -- Magdalena Johansson * A Bookaholic Swede Blog * I was incredibly impressed by Little Bones. If you like your crime fiction to involve the more traditional police procedural, one that has a little more complexity to the generic, this may well be a book that you will really enjoy. * Cleopatra Loves Books Blog * Little Bones has suspense, mystery, suspicious death, festering families, a brilliantly executed plot, PLUS characters with plenty of flavour * Little Bookness Lane Blog * It was a great book, with some unexpected twist and with an ending that first was promising and then turned devastating. I recommend this book warmly! * It's a Mad, Mad World * A gripping read * Irish Country Magazine * Sam Blake's debut novel is a fast-paced thriller with a twisting plot and a likable heroine * Irish Times (Weekend Review) * One to watch * Crime Always Pays * From the very first page the reader is treated to a tense, fast-paced journey of suspense. A thrilling debut with a gutsy protagonist and a memorable story. The pages will practically turn themselves... Highly Recommended * Bleach House Library * Connolly, for whom the word "gutsy" might have been invented, is a terrific character . . . a compelling debut; the author keeps her complex storyline going all the way to its incredible ending * Sunday Independent * A truly engrossing read * independent.ie * I thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a good, strong story-line with believable and maybe more importantly, likeable characters. It's a dark, chilling read and I really enjoyed it. Cathy Connolly is instantly likeable and I can't wait to read more from Sam Blake soon. Definitely a debut writer to watch out for. * Damp Pebbles * if you love complex mystery plots, you could definitely enjoy Little Bones. And despite that creepy blurb, the book is never graphic or too disturbing, I can assure you. Dark and gripping? Absolutely... * The Misstery * I whizzed through this and am highly impressed that this is a debut! Written with a fresh voice in the genre of crime fiction it will be hard to put down. Addictive and shocking and full of mystery. I cannot wait to read more from this author. * Supermum * This is a fast-paced, suspenseful read that will have you whipping through the pages, frantic to discover what happens in the next chapter, and the next and the next. Suffice to say, it is very addictive. Little bones will knock you off your feet and in the way only a superlative read truly can, prove impossible to banish from your thoughts. * Ronnie Turner * Little Bones will grab you from the very beginning. Blake sets up a new series of police crime thrillers with Little Bones, and Cathy is a strong female protagonist to use as the heroine. Little Bones is a must for anyone looking to get their summertime crime fix. * Pure M Magazine * Tightly plotted, believably charactered and told with style - what more can you want? A great debut. * The Book Bag * I can not believe this is a debut novel! Sam Blake has created a hard, powerful kickass character in Detective Cat Connelly... * LauraPrime.com *
show more

About Sam Blake

Sam Blake is a pseudonym for Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin, the founder of The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy and the hugely popular national writing resources website Writing.ie. Little Bones, her debut, was shortlisted for the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards Crime Fiction Book of the Year award.
show more

Rating details

794 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 26% (208)
4 41% (328)
3 24% (187)
2 6% (51)
1 3% (20)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X