Linux All-in-One Desk Reference For Dummies

Linux All-in-One Desk Reference For Dummies

3.2 (5 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$39.98

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Organized into eight task-oriented minibooks, this comprehensive 816-page guide shows beginning-to-intermediate users how to get up and running with today's top five Linux distributions: Fedora Core, SUSE, Debian, Xandros, and Knoppix The companion DVD features the full installable versions of Fedora Core 3 and Knoppix and the ISO images (saving hours of downloading time) for the following distributions: SUSE live, Debian full version, and Xandros Open Circulation version. Features step-by-step installation instructions for each distribution The minibooks offer humorous, easy-to-understand coverage of Linux basics, desktops, networking, the Internet, administration, security, Internet servers, and programming Lets readers explore the most popular distributions for desktop and server use
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 804 pages
  • 186 x 230 x 52mm | 1,161.21g
  • Hungry Minds Inc,U.S.
  • Foster City, United States
  • English
  • 0764579363
  • 9780764579363

Table of contents

Introduction. Book I: Linux Basics. Chapter 1: Introducing Linux. Chapter 2: Installing Linux. Chapter 3: Troubleshooting and Configuring Linux. Chapter 4: Trying Out Linux. Book II: Linux Desktops. Chapter 1: Introducing the GUI Desktops. Chapter 2: Commanding the Shell. Chapter 3: Navigating the Linux File System. Chapter 4: Introducing Linux Applications. Chapter 5: Using Text Editors. Book III: Networking. Chapter 1: Connecting to the Internet. Chapter 2: Setting Up a Local Area Network. Chapter 3: Adding a Wireless Ethernet LAN. Chapter 4: Managing the Network. Book IV: Internet. Chapter 1: E--Mailing and IMing in Linux. Chapter 2: Browsing the Web. Chapter 3: Reading Newsgroups. Chapter 4: Using FTP. Book V: Administration. Chapter 1: Learning Basic System Administration. Chapter 2: Managing Users and Groups. Chapter 3: Managing File Systems. Chapter 4: Installing and Updating Applications. Chapter 5: Customizing the Linux Kernel. Book VI: Security. Chapter 1: Introducing Linux Security. Chapter 2: Securing a Linux Host. Chapter 3: Improving Network Security. Chapter 4: Performing Computer Security Audits. Book VII: Internet Servers. Chapter 1: Managing Internet Services. Chapter 2: Running a Web Server. Chapter 3: Setting Up the FTP Server. Chapter 4: Managing Mail and News Servers. Chapter 5: Managing DNS. Chapter 6: Using Samba and NFS. Book VIII: Programming. Chapter 1: Programming in Linux. Chapter 2: Programming in C. Chapter 3: Writing Shell Scripts. Chapter 4: Programming in Perl. Appendix: About the DVD. Index.
show more

About Naba Barkakati

Naba Barkakati is an electrical engineer, expert programmer, and software developer. He's the author of more than 25 books, including Red Hat Linux 9 Professional Secrets.
show more

Rating details

5 ratings
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 60% (3)
3 20% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 20% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X