The Limit
13%
off

The Limit : Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

4.19 (392 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Narrator 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell's high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars. Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 129.54 x 152.4 x 22.86mm | 226.8g
  • Highbridge Company
  • Old Saybrook, United States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 161174623X
  • 9781611746235
  • 2,366,671

Review quote

"Fred Stella's worldly sensibilities and ease with European languages bring Old World nostalgia to the traditions and culture that make this story so rewarding." --"AudioFile"show more

Rating details

392 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 39% (152)
4 46% (181)
3 12% (48)
2 1% (5)
1 2% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X