The Limit
21%
off

The Limit : Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

4.22 (560 ratings by Goodreads)
Narrator  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell's high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars. Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 131 x 150 x 23mm | 231g
  • Old Saybrook, United States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 161174623X
  • 9781611746235
  • 1,772,786

Review quote

"A roaring zip. . . . Ostensibly about a single Grand Prix season "The Limit" is also a biography of a man whose ambition and fascination with technology embodied America's post-World War II ethos." --"The Daily Beast"
show more

Rating details

560 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 41% (229)
4 45% (250)
3 11% (64)
2 2% (10)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X