The Lightning Tree

The Lightning Tree

3.33 (135 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

This is a story of two young people who fall in love - and then life gets in the way.
Ursula is part dreamer, part radical in the making. Raised in a matriarchal household by a CND-loving activist, she is impatient to begin a life of adventure.
But this is Newcastle in the mid-80s where girls are getting permed and their dreams go no further than copping off down the Bigg Market.
Then Ursula meets Jerry, a class warrior from the wrong side of town, intellectually hungry, erudite and ambitious. It is a meeting of bodies, souls, minds and ideals.
Keen to pursue the road less travelled, Ursula heads to India while Jerry goes to Oxford and the promise of politics and power. As Ursula searches for answers, she is soon drifting - and Jerry loses touch. What happens to young love when it is tested by real life?
The Lightning Tree is a lyrical and funny novel for fans of The Line of Beauty and The Marriage Plot.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 25mm | 322g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571254012
  • 9780571254019
  • 1,157,185

Review Text

Woof finds humour and poignancy in the gulf between how things are and how they ought to be. The Observer
show more

About Emily Woof

Born in Newcastle Upon Tyne, Emily Woof has written for stage, film and radio. She wrote and directed Meeting Helen for FilmFour, and directed the prize-winning short film Between The Wars. She has also worked as a trapeze artist and actor; her screen credits include Oliver Twist, The Full Monty, Pandaemonium, This Year's Love and Velvet Goldmine. Her first novel The Whole Wide Beauty was published to great acclaim in 2010. She lives in London with her husband and two children.
show more

Rating details

135 ratings
3.33 out of 5 stars
5 9% (12)
4 33% (45)
3 42% (57)
2 13% (17)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X