The Light of the Midnight Stars
23%
off

The Light of the Midnight Stars : The beautiful and timeless tale of love, loss and sisterhood

3.66 (555 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A SPELLBINDING TALE OF LOVE AND LOSS, SISTERHOOD AND THE TANGLED THREADS OF FATE.

'Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down' Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series

This is how a fairy tale begins . . .

Deep in the Hungarian woods, the sacred magic of King Solomon lives on in his descendants. Gathering under the midnight stars, they perform small miracles and none are more gifted than the great Rabbi Isaac and his three daughters.

Hannah, bookish and calm, can coax plants to grow even when the weather is bitterly cold. Sarah, defiant and strong, can control the impulsive nature of fire. And Levana, the fey one, can read the path of the stars to decipher their secrets.

But darkness is creeping across Europe, threatening the lives of every Jewish person in every village. Each sister will have to make an impossible choice in an effort to survive - and change the fate of their family forever.

Enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history . . . perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale and Spinning Silver.

'The Light of the Midnight Stars is storytelling as spellcasting. Rossner has conjured something vivid and wild and true' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

'Rossner creates a lush, immersive world . . . The result is as lovely as it is heartbreaking' Publishers Weekly

'Rossner's tale is as lyrical as the slow growth of roots, the quick dance of fire, and the stately procession of the stars. Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down' Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series

'A welcome tribute to Jewish resilience in the face of oppression, imbued with elemental magic, folkloric traditions, and the transcendent power of love' Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of The Wolf in the Whale

Other novels by Rena Rossner:
The Sisters of the Winter Wood
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 158 x 238 x 38mm | 680g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356511464
  • 9780356511467
  • 353,044

Review Text

A welcome tribute to Jewish resilience in the face of oppression, imbued with elemental magic, folkloric traditions, and the transcendent power of love
show more

Review quote

Highly recommended for lovers of Naomi Novik's Spinning Silver and her 'Scholomance' series, as well as readers who enjoy their fantasy steeped in myths from infrequently represented people and places * LIBRARY JOURNAL * The Light of the Midnight Stars is storytelling as spellcasting. Rossner has conjured something vivid and wild and true -- Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE MERCIES Rossner's tale is as lyrical as the slow growth of roots, the quick dance of fire and the stately procession of the stars. Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down -- Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series Rossner creates a lush, immersive world . . . The result is as lovely as it is heartbreaking -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Rossner has crafted a masterful tale blending Jewish mysticism, fairy tales, and history in this story about three girls who wield the sacred magic of King Solomon's descendants ... This spectacular coming-of-age story shows the evolution that each of the sisters moves through to find their ending -- BOOKLIST A welcome tribute to Jewish resilience in the face of oppression, imbued with elemental magic, folkloric traditions, and the transcendent power of love -- Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of THE WOLF IN THE WHALE There are princes and princess es aplen ty in Rena Rossner's new fan ta sy nov el, The Light of the Mid night Stars, and enough of the fan tas ti cal to sat is fy the most ardent Grimm fan . . . Read ers will feel a con nec tion to the time and place, as it serves as a con stant reminder of what we fight for dai ly - free dom to be our selves and to choose our own destinies * JEWISH BOOK COUNCIL *
show more

About Rena Rossner

Rena Rossner hails from Miami Beach, Florida. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins University Writing Seminars Program, she studied at Trinity College, Dublin and holds an MA in history from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Her debut novel, The Sisters of the Winter Wood was listed as 'One of the 100 Best Books' of the year by Publishers Weekly. She currently lives in Israel with her husband, five children and a pug, where she works as a literary agent at the Deborah Harris Literary Agency. Her grandparents and great grandparents are from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, Hungary and Romania. Their stories inspire her work.
show more

Rating details

555 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 26% (146)
4 32% (178)
3 28% (154)
2 9% (50)
1 5% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X