The Light in the Lake
8%
off

The Light in the Lake

4.11 (306 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.11 (306 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Twelve-year-old Addie should avoid Maple Lake. After all, her twin brother Amos drowned there only a few months ago. But its crisp, clear water runs in her veins, and the notebook Amos left behind, filled with clues about a mysterious creature in the lake's inky-blue depths, keeps calling her back. She never took Amos seriously when he was alive, but doesn't she owe it to him to figure out, once and for all, if there's really something out there? When she's offered a Young Scientist position studying the lake for the summer, Addie accepts, yearning for the cool wind in her hair and that sparkle on the lake, despite her parent's misgivings.

Addie promises her parents that she'll remain under the scientists' supervision and stick to her job of helping them measure water pollution levels, but she can't resist the secrets of Maple Lake. Addie enlists Tai, the son of one of the visiting scientists, to help her sneak off and investigate Amos's evidence of the creature. The more time Addie spends out on the water, the more she discovers the same deep-down feeling Amos had about the magic in Maple Lake. But when the scientists trace the pollution to surrounding dairy farms, including the one run by her beloved aunt and uncle, Addie finds herself caught between her family's interests and Maple Lake's future and between the science she has always prized and the magic that brings her closer to her brother.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 138 x 198 x 34mm | 380g
  • Little, Brown Young Readers
  • London, United States
  • English
  • 0316422428
  • 9780316422420
  • 1,650,468

Review quote

A complex take on science, magic, grief, and family for fans of thoughtful realistic fiction in the vein of Kathi Appelt's, Erin Entrada Kelly's, and Ali Benjamin's novels.--School Library Journal
show more

About Sarah R. Baughman

Sarah Baughman is a former middle and high school English teacher who now works as an educational consultant and author. She graduated from Grinnell College and the University of Michigan, then went on to teach English overseas in three different countries. After spending a number of years in rural northeastern Vermont, she recently moved back to Michigan with her husband and their two children.
show more

Rating details

306 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 38% (116)
4 40% (122)
3 18% (56)
2 4% (11)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X