The Lifeboat Clique

The Lifeboat Clique

3.43 (1,588 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that's perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.

Some people might say that Denver has a death wish. Why else would she dare to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she'd be surrounded by enemies?

Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he'd ask her out, but who is she to question this miracle of fate?

Well, that isn't the only surprise fate has in store.

During the party a tsunami hits the coast of California, and Denver and a handful of others escape death and are swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways is none other than her ex-BFF, Abigail, who can barely stand the sight of her.

Trapped on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first-dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 20mm | 256g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062393987
  • 9780062393982
  • 130,100

Back cover copy

THEY'RE GOING TO NEED A BIGGER BOAT.

Some people might say that Denver has a death wish. Why else would she dare to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she'd be surrounded by enemies?

Oh yeah, Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he'd ask her out, but who is she to question this miracle of fate?

Well, that isn't the only surprise fate has in store.

During the party a tsunami hits the coast of California. Denver and a handful of others escape death and are swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways is her ex-BFF, Abigail, who can barely stand the sight of her.

Now that she's floating on the ocean, stuck on a small boat with the most popular kids in school, Denver wonders what might kill her first--dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister.

A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.
show more

Review Text

"A savagely funny book." Jesse Andrews, author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
show more

Review quote

"A savagely funny book." -- Jesse Andrews, author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl "A compulsive read." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Part adventure, part sly critique of high school politics, Parks's novel is a sweet, moving novel about loss, friendship, and the will to both live and forgive." -- Publishers Weekly
show more

About Kathy Parks

As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of novels including The Lifeboat Clique and Notes from My Captivity, and she also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband, Michael, in Boulder, Colorado.
show more

Rating details

1,588 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 15% (234)
4 34% (543)
3 34% (544)
2 14% (219)
1 3% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X