The Life and Times of Mrs Sherwood (1775-1851)

The Life and Times of Mrs Sherwood (1775-1851) : From the Diaries of Captain and Mrs Sherwood

By (author)  , Edited by 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


F. J. Harvey Darton (1878-1936) published Life and Times in 1910. It is an account of the life and work of the well-loved children's author and educationalist Mary Martha Sherwood (1775-1851). Sherwood, a prolific writer, published numerous bestsellers, including the didactic series The History of the Fairchild Family (1818-47) and The History of Henry Milner (1822-37). Sherwood was also passionately involved in education; she established a number of schools both in England and in India, where she lived for 11 years from 1805, and where she became an evangelical Christian. Darton's account is based around excerpts from Sherwood's own diaries, which had been published in 1854 as Sherwood's 'autobiography', but with large sections removed. Darton restored the deleted sections and supplemented the diaries with details from the unpublished diaries of Sherwood's husband, Captain Henry Sherwood (1776-1849) and information supplied by the Sherwood more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 10 b/w illus. 1 colour illus.
  • 1139060740
  • 9781139060745

Table of contents

Introduction; 1. Ancestry and birth (1741-75); 2. Early days at Stanford (1775-87); 3. Kidderminster (1788-90); 4. Captain Sherwood's wanderings (1787-95); 5. School life (1791-3); 6. The last days of childhood (1794-6); 7. Retirement and marriage (1795-1803); 8. Following the camp (1803-5); 9. Round the Cape to India (1805); 10. From Calcutta to Dinapore by water (1805); 11. Illness and sorrow at Berhampore (1805-7); 12. Life and death at Cawnpore (1807-9); 13. A journey to Calcutta and back (1809-10); 14. Henry Martyn and Cawnpore (1810-12); 15. Meerut; 16. The return to England (1816-17); 17. A fresh start (1817-21); 18. Pupils and family affairs (1822-51); Appendix; more