Life of George Eliot

Life of George Eliot

4 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$79.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


'George Eliot' was the pseudonym of Marian Evans (1819-80), possibly the greatest of the Victorian novelists, whose works include The Mill on the Floss (1860), Middlemarch (1871-2) and Daniel Deronda (1876). Her personal life was complex - she was an independent woman who challenged social conventions. Her friend, Eton master and historian Oscar Browning (1837-1923), was moved to write this affectionate assessment of her life, and it was published in 1890, offering 'no claims ... but a friendship of fifteen years, and a deep and unswerving devotion to her mind and character'. Browning takes a chronological approach, focusing mainly on the beginnings of Eliot's writing career and on her novels, while adding recollections of their encounters. He also writes with candour about Eliot's relationship and cohabitation with the married writer G. H. Lewes (1817-78), which transgressed the social norms of the period.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1139149199
  • 9781139149198

Table of contents

1. Present general views with regard to George Eliot's work; 2. George Eliot settles down at Richmond to a literary life; 3. The idea of Romola results from visit to Florence during Italian tour; 4. More poetical productions; 5. Which of George Eliot's novels ranks highest?; Index.
show more

Rating details

2 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 50% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 50% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X