Liberation Square

Liberation Square

3.43 (67 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world' Sunday Mirror

'A gripping story, with heart' Best thrillers of 2019, Daily Telegraph

It's 1952 and Soviet troops control British streets after winning the Second World War.

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

On the Soviet side of the wall, Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice, hoping to surprise him. But instead she detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime.

Jane rushes to confront them, but soon finds herself caught up in the glamorous actress's death.

Her husband Nick is arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.
___________

'A gripping and well-imagined yarn' Sun

'A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain . . . One not to miss' William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

'A superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut' Stav Sherez, author of The Intrusions

'A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant' Mason Cross, bestselling author of The Samaritan

'A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller' Claire McGowan, author of The Fall
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 36mm | 629g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0718187091
  • 9780718187095
  • 492,087

Review quote

A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read -- Angela Clarke A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain -- Claire McGowan Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape -- Stav Sherez, Gold Dagger-winning author of The Intrusions A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant. -- Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill -- Jake Kerridge A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss -- William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland -- David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child A tight and compelling thriller * SFX * Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year * Rubin paints a shocking picture of what might have happened had we lost the Second World War and been invaded first by the Nazis and then the Soviet army. It's an edgy ride, a reminder that we should not take our freedom for granted * Peterborough Evening Telegraph * An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun * A taut, psychological thriller with a plausible twist, Rubin's debut novel does not disappoint . . . an extraordinary but believable tale of corruption, power play and black-market racketeering . . . Well researched and imaginative, Rubin's alternative history novel creates an eerie landscape full of menace . . . Writing with panache and creative flair, Rubin breathes credibility into a disturbing 'what if' scenario. Chilling and intriguing in equal measures * The Lady * This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror * Gripping alternative history . . . Ingeniously plotted, with storytelling that's full of heart * Daily Telegraph *
show more

About Gareth Rubin

Gareth Rubin is an author and journalist who has written for most British national newspapers. He lives in London, and Liberation Square is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

67 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 21% (14)
4 28% (19)
3 30% (20)
2 15% (10)
1 6% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X