The Leydig Cell in Health and Disease

The Leydig Cell in Health and Disease

Edited by  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This book provides a comprehensive study of the Leydig cell, a fascinating and important cell type. It presents all of the developments in our understanding of Leydig cell biology and explores a wide variety of current and potential clinical applications. All aspects of Leydig cell biology, development, regulation, and physiology are explored in thirty-one expertly written chapters. This in-depth volume is an invaluable resource.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 476 pages
  • 215.9 x 279.4 x 27.9mm | 1,474.17g
  • Humana Press Inc.
  • Totowa, NJ, United States
  • English
  • 24 Tables, black and white; 2 Illustrations, color; 77 Illustrations, black and white; XII, 476 p. 79 illus., 2 illus. in color.
  • 1588297543
  • 9781588297549

Review quote

From the reviews: "Part of the Series Contemporary Endocrinology, this volume reviews in 5 parts and 30 chapters written by an international team aspects of Leydig cell biology, physiology and clinic. The book has many high quality illustrations, some in color. Of interest to endocrinologists and andrologists." (Pediatric Endocrinology Reviews, Vol. 5 (2), December, 2007)show more

Table of contents

The Leydig Cell HISTORICAL 1. A History of Leydig Cell Research. A. Kent Christensen, University of Michigan. akc@umich.edu CELL BIOLOGY 2. Structural and Histological Analysis of Leydig Cell Steroidogenic Function. Syed G. Haider, Gisela Servos, and Nicole Tran, Heinrich Heine University, Duesseldorf, Germany. haider@uni-duesseldorf.de 3. Fetal Leydig Cells: Origin, Regulation And Steroidogenesis. Humphrey Hung-Chang Yao and Ivraym Barsoum, University of Illinois. hhyao@uiuc.edu 4. Regulation Of Leydig Cells During Pubertal Development. Renshan Ge and Matthew P. Hardy, Population Council. hardy@popcbrockefeller.edu 5. The Human Leydig Cell: Functional Morphology and Developmental History. Frederick P. Prince, Plymouth State College. fprince@mail.plymouth.edu 6. Dynamics of Leydig Cell Regeneration after EDS: A Model for Postnatal Leydig Cell Development. Katja J. Teerds and Eddy Rijntjes, Wageningen University Wageningen, The Netherlands. katja.teerds@wur.nl 7. Aging and the Decline of Androgen Production. Haolin Chen, Andrew Midzak, Lindi Luo and Barry R. Zirkin, Johns Hopkins University. brzirkin@jhsph.edu STEROIDOGENESIS 8. Regulation of Leydig Cell Cholesterol Metabolism. Salman Azhar and Eve Reaven, GRECC, VA Hospital, Palo Alto, CA. salman.azhar@med.va.gov 9. The Role of StAR in Leydig Cell Steroidogenesis. Douglas M. Stocco, Texas Tech University. Doug.Stocco@ttuhsc.edu 10. Steroidogenic Enzymes in Leydig Cells. Anita H. Payne, Stanford University School of Medicine. Anita.Payne@stanford.edu 11. Development of Leydig Cell Steroidogenesis. Peter J. O'Shaughnessy, Heather Johnston, and Paul Joseph Baker, Institute of Comparative Medicine, University of Glasgow Veterinary School, Glasgow, UK. P.J.OShaughnessy@vet.gla.ac.uk 12. Peripheral Testosterone Metabolism. Daniel P. Sherbet and Richard Auchus, University of Texas Southwestern, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism. Richard.auchus@utsouthwestern.edu 13. Leydig Cell Aromatase: From Gene To Physiology. Serge Carreau, University of Caen, France. carreau@ibfa.unicaen.fr 14. The Role of Estrogen Sulfotransferase (SULT1E1) in Leydig Cells. Wenchau Song,Dept. Pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania. song@spirit.gcrc.upenn.edu 15. Endocrinology of Leydig Cells in Nonmammalian Vertebrates. Kelly Bonner Engel and Gloria Callard, Boston University. gvc@bu.edu REGULATION 16. The Luteinizing Hormone Receptor. Maria Dufau and Chon-Hwa Tsai-Morris, National Institutes of Health, dufaum@mail.nih.gov 17. Insights into Leydig Cell Function from Mice with Genetically Modified Gonadotropin Action. Ilpo Huhtaniemi, Institute of Reproductive and Developmental Biology, Imperial College London, U.K. ilpo.huhtaniemi@imperial.ac.uk 18. Growth Factors in Leydig Cell Function. Varadaraj Chandrashekar and Andrej Bartke. Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. shekar@siu.edu , abartke@siumed.edu 19. The biology of Insulin-like peptide 3 (INSL3) in Leydig cells. Richard Ivell & Ross AD Bathgate. Richard Ivell and Ross A.D. Bathgate. Ivell: School of Molecular and Biomedical Science, University of Adelaide, Frome Road, SA 5005, Australia. Richard.ivell@Adelaide.edu.au . Bathgate: Howard Florey Institute, University Melbourne, Parkville, VIC 3010, Australia. bathgate@mail.hfi.unimelb.edu.au 20. Neuronal Signaling Molecules and Leydig Cells. Artur Mayerhoffer, Department of Molecular Anatomy, Technical University of Munich, mayerhofer@lrz.uni-muenchen.de 21. Regulation of Leydig Cell Function as it pertains to the Inflammatory Response. Dale B. Hales, University of Illinois, Chicago, Il. dbhale@uic.edu 22. Activins And Leydig Cellshow more