Level 42

Level 42 : Every Album, Every Song (On Track)

4 (3 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4 (3 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


One of the most iconic and successful British bands of the 1980s, Level 42 are also arguably the ultimate 'fusion' unit, streamlining their energetic early jazz/funk/rock sound into slick, effortlessly-soulful pop music. Encompassing eleven studio albums, including twenty UK top 40 hits and two US top twenty singles, their catalogue, in many ways, defines the '80s but also reflects their musical virtuosity and vibrant eclecticism, peppering tracks with influences from Herbie Hancock, Return To Forever and The Mahavishnu Orchestra. Emerging from the so-called 'Britfunk' scene, Level 42 developed from being one of the most electrifying live acts of the era to become a true songwriters' collective, delivering the effervescent, ubiquitous hits 'The Sun Goes Down (Living It Up)', 'Something About You' and 'Lessons In Love'.

Level 42 - on track is the first in-depth study of the band's illustrious catalogue, track by track, album by album, with recording information, musical analysis, studio gossip, full musician credits and contributions from Mark King and Gary Husband. The book also covers the solo projects of the band's many members. Level 42 - on track is a must for fans and those interested in the wider musical landscape of the 1980s and 1990s.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 148 x 210 x 12.7mm | 249.48g
  • Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 16 colour pages
  • 1789521025
  • 9781789521023
  • 1,080,238

About Matt Phillips

Matt Phillips has been a Level 42 fan since seeing the band perform 'The Chinese Way' on Top Of The Pops in January 1983. He is the founder of movingtheriver.com and soundsofsurprise.com, has contributed to various magazines including Classic Pop and Jazzwise and won the inaugural Write Stuff award for jazz writing. Matt has been Universal Music's jazz catalogue manager and Jazz FM's web editor, and written the liner notes for Miles Davis, Tony Williams and Billy Cobham DVDs and CDs. As a multi-instrumentalist, Matt has performed extensively in London and Europe, and co-written songs for Silver Sun. He lives in London.
show more

Rating details

3 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 33% (1)
4 33% (1)
3 33% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X