Letters from Skye

Letters from Skye

3.9 (12,401 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A sweeping love story told through letters, spanning two continents and two world wars. For fans of My Dear, I wanted to tell you, The Postmistress and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

UNITED BY LETTERS. SEPARATED BY AN OCEAN. DEVASTATED BY WAR.

A letter isn't always just a letter. Words on the page can drench the soul.

Elspeth Dunn, a published poet living on the Isle of Skye, answers her first fan letter from Davey Graham, an impetuous young man in Illinois. Without having to worry about appearances or expectations, Elspeth and Davey confess their hopes, dreams and fears, things they've never told another soul. Even without meeting, they know one another. But as World War I engulfs Europe and Davey volunteers as an ambulance driver on the Western front, Elspeth can only wait on Skye, anxious for his return; wondering if they'll ever get a chance to meet.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 19mm | 213g
  • Windmill Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0099559129
  • 9780099559122
  • 196,032

Review Text

A touching story of forbidden wartime romance, spanning two generations and two separate continents.
show more

Review quote

A touching story of forbidden wartime romance, spanning two generations and two separate continents. * The Reading Room * A poignant tale of a stubborn love that bridges the lives and wars of two generations, Letters From Skye gives the reader a story to inhale as well as read, unfolding amid the gripping panorama of a changing world-an absorbing and rewarding saga of loss and discovery. -- Kate Alcott, New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker A captivating love story that celebrates the power of hope to triumph over time and circumstance. -- Vanessa Diffenbaugh, New York Times bestselling author of The Language of Flowers This is a gentle love story. Telling it through letters makes the characters more real ... given depth and richness by letters that speak straight from the heart. * The Scotsman * This is an enchanting love story, told in a series of letters ... It's beautifully imagined and blissfully romantic. * The Times *
show more

About Jessica Brockmole

Jessica Brockmole grew up in the Midwest but began writing Letters from Skye while she was living in Edinburgh. After her second child was born, she and her husband escaped the city and spent a week on the Isle of Skye. The story came to her on the journey home and she started scribbling notes in the car. To begin with, the outpouring was less a novel than an extended letter to herself, written late at night when everyone else had gone to bed. A letter reminding her not to lose touch with the people she loved, and reassuring her that she would be stronger for overcoming her fears. Jessica now lives in Indiana with her husband and two children. Letters from Skye is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

12,401 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 30% (3,668)
4 40% (4,950)
3 23% (2,848)
2 6% (748)
1 2% (187)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X