Legends of the North Cascades
5%
off

Legends of the North Cascades

3.64 (469 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Beautifully rendered and cinematic . . . A story of survival and the love and devotion between parent and child." -Jill McCorkle, author of Hieroglyphics

Dave Cartwright has had enough. After three tours in Iraq he has come home to Vigilante Falls in Washington State only to find that he feels incapable of connecting to the people and the place that once defined him. Most days, his love for his seven-year-old daughter, Bella, is the only thing keeping him going. When tragedy strikes, Dave makes a dramatic decision: he will take Bella to live in a cave in the wilderness of the North Cascades.

So begins a compelling adventure, a story of a father and daughter attempting to cope with a breathtaking but harsh environment. Once they are settled in the cave, Bella retreats into a different world, that of a mother and son who had lived in that same space, but thousands of years before, at the end of last Ice Age. As the two dramas begin to merge, a timeless odyssey unfolds, both as a meditation on the perils of isolation and an exploration of humans' indelible struggle to survive.

Perfect for readers of Peter Heller's novels or Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone, Legends of the North Cascades is Jonathan Evison's return to sweeping, multicharacter narratives like his New York Times bestseller West of Here and is an immensely satisfying read.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 36.07mm | 498.95g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Text only
  • 1643750100
  • 9781643750101

About Jonathan Evison

Jonathan Evison lives with his wife and family on Bainbridge Island, near Seattle, WA. Legends of the North Cascades is his sixth novel.
show more

Rating details

469 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 19% (90)
4 39% (184)
3 30% (142)
2 9% (44)
1 2% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X