Legend Has It: Pax Arcana Bk 5
32%
off

Legend Has It: Pax Arcana Bk 5

4.05 (461 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For John Charming, living the dream just became a nightmare.Someone, somewhere, is reading a magic book that is reading them right back. Real life is becoming a fairytale: high school students are turning, quite literally, into zombies, subway workers into dwarves, drug addicts into vampires.John Charming and his motley band of monster hunters are racing to find the villain of this story, following the yellow brick road through a not so wonderful wonderland. And if they can't find Reader Zero before the book is closed, there won't be a happily ever after again. LEGEND HAS IT is the fifth novel in a series which gives a new twist to the Prince Charming tale.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 141 x 209 x 32mm | 324g
  • Little, Brown & Company
  • Orbit
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0316302376
  • 9780316302371
  • 241,023

About Elliott James

An army brat and gypsy scholar, Elliott James is currently living in the Blue Ridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores.show more

Review quote

"Loved it! "Charming" is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining." "Kevin Hearne, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Hounded "on "Charming""" -Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways...James's reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast-paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!---RT Book Reviews on Charming -This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanan McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy.---Library Journal (Starred review) on Charming -In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds...This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco.---Booklist on Charming -James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into.---Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author on Charming -I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in.---Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author on Charming -Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining.---Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of Hounded on Charming -The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne -- pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too.---Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series -With each new chapter in his outstanding Pax Arcana series, James ups his game in both excellent character development and world expansion. If you love wisecracks in the face of ultimate danger, then John Charming is definitely your man!---RT Book Reviews on In Shining Armor (Top Pick! 4.5 stars) -An urban fantasy that features an irreverent, smart-mouthed hero and adventures that are entertaining.---Kirkus "Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways...James's reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast-paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!"--RT Book Reviews on Charming "This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanan McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy."--Library Journal (Starred review) on Charming "In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds...This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco."--Booklist on Charming "James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into."--Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author on Charming "I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in."--Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author on Charming "Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining."--Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of Hounded on Charming "The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne -- pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too."--Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series "With each new chapter in his outstanding Pax Arcana series, James ups his game in both excellent character development and world expansion. If you love wisecracks in the face of ultimate danger, then John Charming is definitely your man!"--RT Book Reviews on In Shining Armor (Top Pick! 4.5 stars) "An urban fantasy that features an irreverent, smart-mouthed hero and adventures that are entertaining."--Kirkusshow more

Review Text

"An urban fantasy that features an irreverent, smart-mouthed hero and adventures that are entertaining."- Kirkusshow more

Rating details

461 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 30% (136)
4 51% (233)
3 17% (77)
2 3% (13)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X