Learn to Read with Espresso Phonics Levels 1&2 (Age 4-7): Teachers and Parents Pack

Learn to Read with Espresso Phonics Levels 1&2 (Age 4-7): Teachers and Parents Pack

  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$32.24

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


A 6-title set of books containing carefully graded, fun stories for first readers - perfect for reading at home with your children or for guided reading at school. This series is unique in featuring the well-loved characters - Eddy, Kim, Sal, Ash, Polly, Scrap and Scully from Espresso Education - to support children who are learning to read through synthetic phonics. This set of books contains all the stories in level 1 and level 2. Level 1 titles - Each book contains no more than 50 words, and focuses on CVC words with short vowel sounds, PLUS the words and, the, to. * Kim's Big Bed In the story, Kim gets a big, new bed. He puts all his toys on it before he goes to sleep. But then he disappears. Where could he be? * Kim's Top Hat Kim gets a top hat, and he conjures up all sorts of things...including his cross Dad! * Sal on the Bus Sal runs and runs for the bus, but she keeps missing it! Will she get on before the bus gets to school? Level 2 titles - Each book contains no more than 70 words, and focuses on CVC words, double letter sounds and new letter sounds (ck, ff, ll, ss, j, v, w, x, y, z, zz) plus the words and, the, to, no, go, I. * Bad Luck, Sal!
Sal has a go on the machine to grab a toy. But everything she picks up keeps falling back! Maybe Kim will have better luck? * Fizz Pop! Kim's can of pop rolls off down the hill. A dog picks it up...but will the can fizz up on top of the dog? * Sal's Red Sock Dad has to pick up Nan. But he has not got his sock. Sal has a red sock, but will it fit Dad? A simple puzzle at the end encourages children to spot the rhyming words and an 'Espresso Connections' section suggests further activities on Espresso Education. Produced in association with Espresso Education, the leading digital curriculum service in the UK - used in over 10,000 schools. About Espresso Phonics: This series contains 16-paged stories and 24-paged stories that use controlled vocabulary through six levels, based on the popular "Letters and Sounds" synthetic phonics scheme from Phase 2 to Phase 4: * Level 1 Stories focus on simple CVC words; stories contain 50 words. * Level 2 Stories focus on double letter sounds; stories contain 70 words. * Level 3 Stories focus two-letter graphemes; stories contain 100 words. * Level 4 Stories focus on adjacent consonants; stories contain 150 words.
* Level 5 Stories focus on two-letter graphemes and split long vowels; stories contain 170 words. * Level 6 Stories focus on alternative spellings; stories contain 200 words. Find out more at http://www.franklinwatts.co.uk/searchResults.aspx?submitSearch.x=0&submitSearch.y=0&q=Espresso
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 16 pages
  • 195 x 325 x 30mm | 560g
  • Franklin Watts Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 1445114968
  • 9781445114965