The Leader

The Leader

3.34 (94 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$22.76

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Great Britain, 1937: Edward VIII will not abdicate. He and his new bride, Wallis Simpson, are preparing for their coronation. Winston Churchill is a prisoner on the Isle of Man. The Prime Minister, Oswald Mosley consults the new Chancellor of Germany, and his close ally, Adolf Hitler on a more 'permanent' solution to the 'Jewish problem'. The secret police have Britain in an iron grip. But one man, James Armstrong , a hero of the Great War, is organising the resistance against the government . While 'the leader' is determined to see him hang, Armstrong, constantly on the run, is every bit as clever and resolute as his enemy. In the tradition of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Guy Walters has written a compelling, page-turning what-if thriller that imagines a nightmare vision of a Britain that could have been, if history had gone the other way.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0552165379
  • 9780552165372

About Guy Walters

Guy Walters is the author of two history books on the Second World War, Hunting Evil and Berlin Games. He is also the author of four thrillers set in the same period: The Leader, The Traitor, The Occupation and The Colditz Legacy. A former Times journalist he writes widely on historical topics for the national press. He lives in Wiltshire with his wife, the author Annabel Venning, and their two children.
show more

Rating details

94 ratings
3.34 out of 5 stars
5 17% (16)
4 26% (24)
3 38% (36)
2 13% (12)
1 6% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X