Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me
33%
off

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me

4.19 (6,776 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Laura Dean, the most popular girl in high school, was Frederica Riley's dream girl: charming, confident, and SO cute. There's just one problem: Laura Dean is maybe not the greatest girlfriend.

Reeling from her latest break up, Freddy's best friend, Doodle, introduces her to the Seek-Her, a mysterious medium who leaves Freddy some cryptic parting words: Break up with her. But Laura Dean keeps coming back, and as their relationship spirals further out of her control, Freddy has to wonder if it's really Laura Dean that's the problem. Maybe it's Freddy, who is rapidly losing her friends, including Doodle, who needs her now more than ever. Fortunately for Freddy, there are new friends and the insight of advice columnists like Anna Vice to help her through being a teenager in love.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 154 x 215 x 22mm | 633g
  • FIRST SECOND
  • New Milford, United States
  • English
  • Two-color illustrations throughout
  • 1626722595
  • 9781626722590
  • 4,914

Review quote

"Tamaki and Valero-O'Connell's tender-hearted narrative sings with real, honest emotion that will resonate with anyone trying to figure out love." --The New York Times

"The visual storytelling is precise and thoughtful, and it's evident that the artist has spent a lot of time designing spaces that feel lived in and characters who immediately exhibit specific personalities... Tamaki excels when she's writing stories about young women discovering their strength in times of crisis, and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me falls right in her creative sweet spot." --the A.V. Club

"Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me is the perfect next read for fans of Love, Simon and To All The Boys I've Loved Before, books about young love and struggling to figure out what it means... It's exactly the sort of book that a lot of teens need to read to feel a little less alone, and a good gateway graphic novel for fans of Netflix's new glut of romances or a stepping-stone for readers ready to graduate from graphic novels like The Baby-Sitters Club adaptations to more complicated, nuanced stories." --Paste

"Pithy dialogue is neatly trimmed to speech-bubble size, and the manga-esque styling suits characters to a T, from doe-eyed, love-smitten Freddy to lean, angular Laura...as a cautionary tale or as an invitation to a pity party, this packs catharsis into every frame." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Touching gently but powerfully on topics of bullying, homophobia, and toxic relationships, this superb graphic novel has its finger on the pulse of teenage concerns." --Booklist, starred review

"This exploration of toxic relationships and social dynamics at the cusp of adulthood is, like its cast, sharp and dazzling."--Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"Tamaki explores the nuances of both romantic and platonic relationships with raw tenderness and honesty. Valero-O'Connell's art is realistic and expressive, bringing the characters to life through dynamic grayscale illustrations featuring highlights of millennial pink...a triumphant queer coming-of-age story that will make your heart ache and soar." --Kirkus, starred review

"Relatable, heart-wrenching, and often funny... Black-and-white panel illustrations with pink accents provide additional characterization and feature a cast diverse in race, gender identity, and body type." --Horn Book, starred review

"Tamaki and Valero-O'Connell do bring to life an artful narrative of relationships--old, new, harmful, and healing--and what happens when you learn to navigate them." --School Library Journal

"A stunning visual of spirited young love and relatable characters... Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me will appeal to a variety of readers with its air of real-life romance blended with the search for identity and friendship." --VOYA
show more

About Mariko Tamaki

Mariko Tamaki writes comic books for BOOM! Studios, Marvel and DC Comics. She is the co-creator of the New York Times bestseller, This One Summer with Jillian Tamaki, which received Eisner and Governor General awards, as well as Caldecott and Printz Honors. Mariko lives in Oakland.

Rosemary Valero-O'Connell has done work for DC Comics, BOOM! Studios, CAPY games, and Mondo Tees among others, and her work has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators NY, and shown in galleries both locally and internationally.
show more

Rating details

6,776 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 42% (2,872)
4 39% (2,669)
3 15% (987)
2 3% (193)
1 1% (55)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X