Lasting Damage
68%
off

Lasting Damage

3.56 (3,408 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Nicci French and Liane Moriarty. 'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express 'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house...It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago. Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room ...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 299.37g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • maps
  • 0340980680
  • 9780340980682
  • 89,539

Review quote

An assured psychological thriller of murderous domestic deceit. Financial Times A beautifully written and entirely gripping take from beginning to end. Heat As addictively creepy as her previous thrillers Independent on Sunday A writer of prodigious talent ... This is a jaw-droppingly assured book which sometimes feels as if there's a plot twist on every page. Daily Express Sophie Hannah scores on all counts ... Confidence oozes from every taut chapter Scotsman '[An] assured psychological thriller of murderous domestic deceit.' Financial Times 'Hannah has a canny knack of insinuating threat into apparently benign domesticity and she does a nice line in offbeat characters' Daily Mail 'We're huge fans of Sophie Hannah's psychological thrillers ... [LASTING DAMAGE is] one of her very best. Whether crime thrillers are your usual cup of tea or not, expect a beautifully written and entirely gripping tale from beginning to end.' Heat 'An edge-of-your-seat psychological crime thriller ... The twists just keep coming. You will be kept on your toes from start to finish.' Essentials 'Hannah creates a complex plot that grafts lurid motifs of insanity on to a solid police-procedural template. Her main strength, however, is her characterisation' Irish Times Praise for Sophie Hannah : Hannah takes domestic scenarios, adds disquieting touches and turns up the suspense until you're checking under the bed for murders Independent It's a given that nothing will be as it seems in the latest psychological thriller from Sophie Hannah, who marries complex plots with crisp, conversational prose Marie Claire As Hannah sees it things are rarely clear cut and it is this moral ambivalence that makes her fiction so provocative Daily Express Hannah's latest psychological thriller combines quirky police procedural with shrewdly observed domestic deceit. Told with confidence and panache, Hannah challenges the reader to work out who the paranoiac of the piece really is. Independentshow more

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thrillerThe Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Sophie's novels The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X