Lasting Damage
68%
off

Lasting Damage

3.56 (3,508 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house ...It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago.Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room ...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 299.37g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • maps
  • 0340980680
  • 9780340980682
  • 14,465

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thriller The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Sophie's novels The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.show more

Review quote

An assured psychological thriller of murderous domestic deceit. Financial Times A beautifully written and entirely gripping take from beginning to end. Heat As addictively creepy as her previous thrillers Independent on Sunday Sophie Hannah scores on all counts ... Confidence oozes from every taut chapter ... Hannah's relish of every delicious twist and tweak is one of the very few things that are clear in this cryptic game of hide and seek. Scotsman Jaw-droppingly assured. Simon Waterhouse...is destined to be up there with the Poirots, the Marples and the Sherlock Holmeses of detective fiction if Hannah keeps up this standard of writing. This reader was left speechless with admiration. Daily Express Hannah's latest psychological thriller combines quirky police procedural with shrewdly observed domestic deceit. Told with confidence and panache, Hannah challenges the reader to work out who the paranoiac of the piece really is. Independent Sophie Hannah's excellent psychological thrillers derive much of their appeal from her knack for coming up with the sort of opening situation that instantly puts the reader in the literary equivalent of an armlock ... Hannah is very good indeed at giving a modern twist to the familiar woman-in-peril theme. Spectatorshow more

Rating details

3,508 ratings
3.56 out of 5 stars
5 18% (630)
4 37% (1,307)
3 31% (1,104)
2 10% (347)
1 3% (120)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X