Last Plane to Heaven

Last Plane to Heaven

3.61 (88 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$28.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Long before he was a novelist, SF writer Jay Lake was an acclaimed writer of short stories. In Last Plane to Heaven, Lake has assembled thirty-two of the best of them. Aliens and angels fill these pages, from the title story, a hard-edged and breath taking look at how a real alien visitor might be received, to the savage truth of "The Cancer Catechisms." Here are more than thirty short stories written by a master of the form, science fiction and fantasy both. This collection features an original introduction by Gene Wolfe.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 154 x 236 x 30mm | 479.99g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765377985
  • 9780765377982
  • 1,153,596

Review quote

"The prolific Lake's death in 2014, after a long, harrowing, and very public battle with cancer, gives extra weight to these 32 epitaphs. Lake's command of language is strong and sincere, and his stories of everyday heartaches, filled with secret fears and self-delusion, whisk readers from inner geographies of mind to limitless gulfs of space."--Publishers Weekly "The prolific Lake s death in 2014, after a long, harrowing, and very public battle with cancer, gives extra weight to these 32 epitaphs. Lake s command of language is strong and sincere, and his stories of everyday heartaches, filled with secret fears and self-delusion, whisk readers from inner geographies of mind to limitless gulfs of space." "Publishers Weekly"" Praise for Jay Lake "Lake's world-building is stellar, even with as idiosyncratic a narrator as Green, and the story she tells thrills."--"Booklist" on Green "The richness of [Lake's] rendering of urban life as tapestry is genuinely irresistible."--John Clute "Lake's strong storytelling skills and his ability to depict exotic cultures and create believable characters make this a tale that should appeal to most lovers of fantasy and the martial arts."--"Library Journal" on "Kalimpura ""Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Endurance""Lake wields big themes--magic and religion versus science, free will, colonialism, and a bit of romance."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Pinion" Praise for Jay Lake"Lake's world-building is stellar, even with as idiosyncratic a narrator as Green, and the story she tells thrills."--"Booklist" on Green"The richness of [Lake's] rendering of urban life as tapestry is genuinely irresistible."--John Clute"Lake's strong storytelling skills and his ability to depict exotic cultures and create believable characters make this a tale that should appeal to most lovers of fantasy and the martial arts."--"Library Journal" on "Kalimpura ""Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review, on "Endurance""Lake wields big themes--magic and religion versus science, free will, colonialism, and a bit of romance."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review, on "Pinion"
show more

About Jay Lake

JAY LAKE was a prolific writer of science fiction and fantasy, as well as an award-winning editor, a popular raconteur and toastmaster, and an excellent teacher at the many writers' workshops he attended. His novels included Tor's publications Mainspring, Escapement, and Pinion, and the trilogy of novels in his Green cycle - Green, Endurance and Kalimpura. Lake was nominated multiple times for the Hugo Award, the Nebula Award, and the World Fantasy Award. He won the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer in 2004, the year after his first professional stories were published. In 2008 Jay Lake was diagnosed with colon cancer, and in the years after he became known outside the sf genre as a powerful and brutally honest blogger about the progression of his disease. Jay Lake died on June 1, 2014.
show more

Rating details

88 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 22% (19)
4 33% (29)
3 34% (30)
2 8% (7)
1 3% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X