Last Man Off
14%
off

Last Man Off : A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

3.91 (777 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm. Thrilling."--Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism, and Last Man Off delivers all that against a breathtaking backdrop of icebergs and killer whales. On June 6, 1998, twenty-three-year-old Matt Lewis had just started his dream job as a scientific observer aboard a deep-sea fishing boat in the waters off Antarctica. As the crew haul in the line for the day, a storm begins to brew. When the captain vanishes and they are forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 13mm | 181g
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0147515343
  • 9780147515346
  • 94,600

Review Text

"A story that reminds us of the unforgiving nature of the sea and the courage that lies within the everyday heroes that have found themselves in hell."-Bear Grylls

"Reads like a sinister version of The Perfect Storm ...Thrilling, compelling, unsettling, rewarding."- Sunday Times

"A dramatic tale of survival in one of the most brutal situations on earth. Feels like reading the diary of a doomed man...so personal and chillingly real; totally takes you there in a way that is not always comfortable." -Steve Backshall
show more

Review quote

"A story that reminds us of the unforgiving nature of the sea and the courage that lies within the everyday heroes that have found themselves in hell."--Bear Grylls, bestselling author of Mud, Sweat, and Tears "Reads like a sinister version of The Perfect Storm... Thrilling, compelling, unsettling, rewarding."--Sunday Times "A dramatic tale of survival in one of the most brutal situations on earth. Feels like reading the diary of a doomed man...so personal and chillingly real; totally takes you there in a way that is not always comfortable."--Steve Backshall, Deadly 60
show more

About Matt Lewis

Matt Lewis is a trained marine biologist with an MSc with distinction in Marine and Fisheries Science. He now lives with his wife and two children in Aberdeen.
show more

Rating details

777 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 28% (218)
4 42% (330)
3 23% (177)
2 6% (48)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X