The Last Emperox
18%
off

The Last Emperox

4.1 (17,210 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The Last Emperox is the thrilling conclusion to the award-winning, New York Times and USA Today bestselling Interdependency series, an epic space opera adventure from Hugo Award-winning author John Scalzi. The collapse of The Flow, the interstellar pathway between the planets of the Interdependency, has accelerated. Entire star systems--and billions of people--are becoming cut off from the rest of human civilization. This collapse was foretold through scientific prediction . . . and yet, even as the evidence is obvious and insurmountable, many still try to rationalize, delay and profit from, these final days of one of the greatest empires humanity has ever known. Emperox Grayland II has finally wrested control of her empire from those who oppose her and who deny the reality of this collapse. But "control" is a slippery thing, and even as Grayland strives to save as many of her people form impoverished isolation, the forces opposing her rule will make a final, desperate push to topple her from her throne and power, by any means necessary. Grayland and her thinning list of allies must use every tool at their disposal to save themselves, and all of humanity. And yet it may not be enough. Will Grayland become the savior of her civilization . . . or the last emperox to wear the crown? The Interdependency Series
1. The Collapsing Empire
2. The Consuming Fire
3. The Last Emperox
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 33mm | 386g
  • New York
  • English
  • 0765389169
  • 9780765389169
  • 216,313

Review quote

Praise for The Consuming Fire

Another fast-paced romp through Scalzi's imagination, bearing hallmarks of his humorous slant on sf tropes. --Library Journal

Praise for The Collapsing Empire Provocative and unexpected. --The Wall Street Journal Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time. --Entertainment Weekly, Grade B+ Scalzi builds a fascinating new interstellar civilization in order to destroy it....[The Collapsing Empire is] amusing escapism full of guts and brains. --Ars Technica Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the "Old Man's War" series. --Library Journal, starred review Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure --Booklist Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure. --Kirkus Reviews Praise for John Scalzi

"As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Cannell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty-most of them in someone else's body."-- --USA Today on Lock In If anyone stands at the core of the American science fiction tradition at the moment, it is Scalzi. --The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition "Plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable world-building, and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics. . . . Yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Lock In
show more

About John Scalzi

JOHN SCALZI is one of the most popular science fiction authors of the 2000s. His multiple New York Times bestsellers include Redshirts, which won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novel, Lock In and The Last Emperox. His debut novel Old Man's War won him the Astounding Award for Best New Writer; his other awards include the Locus, Seiun and Audie. Whatever (whatever.scalzi.com), his online site, has been published continuously since 1998, and has earned him two other Hugo awards. His television work includes Stargate Universe and Love, Death & Robots. Scalzi lives in Ohio, where he takes pictures of cats and sunsets.
show more

Rating details

17,210 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 37% (6,450)
4 42% (7,204)
3 15% (2,664)
2 4% (607)
1 2% (285)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X