The Last Days of Newgate

The Last Days of Newgate : An addictive mystery thriller full of twists and turns

3.48 (396 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'A story of high intrigue and low politics, brutal murder and cunning conspiracies . . . tangy and rambunctious stuff!' Observer 'Gripping and atmospheric' Daily Express'Enjoyably disturbing . . . likely to leave the reader clamouring for more' TLSSt Giles, London, 1829: three people have been brutally murdered and the city simmers with anger and political unrest. Pyke, sometime Bow Street Runner, sometime crook, finds himself accidentally embroiled in the murder investigation but quickly realises that he has stumbled into something more sinister and far-reaching.In his pursuit of the murderer, Pyke ruffles the feathers of some powerful people and, falsely accused of murder himself, he soon faces a death sentence and the gallows. Imprisoned, and with only his uncle and the headstrong, aristocratic daughter of his greatest enemy to help, Pyke must engineer his escape, find the real killer and untangle the web of intrigue that has been spun around him.A story of intrigue, conspiracy and murder set in 19th-century Britain for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Ripper Street and Patrick Easter.'The novel drips with all the atmospheric details of a pre-Victorian murder mystery - "pea-soupers", dingy lanterns and laudanum' The Times'Pyke ia an intriguingly unfathomable character' Financial Times'Pyke is violent, vengeful and conflicted in the best tradition of detectives. His story takes in grisly murder and torture, and uses 1800s London in the same way that hard-boiled fiction uses Los Angeles as a mirror of a corrupt society' Time Outshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 32mm | 258.55g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • WEIDENFELD & NICOLSON
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0753821680
  • 9780753821688
  • 199,152

Review quote

"Gripping and atmospheric." --"Daily Express" "Tangy and rambunctious stuff." --"Observer" "Hard-hitting." --"Publishers Weekly" "Hard-hitting." "Publishers Weekly"" "Gripping and atmospheric." "Daily Express"" "Pyke is violent, vengeful and conflicted in the best tradition of detectives. His story takes in grisly murder and torture, and uses 1800s London in the same way that hard-boiled fiction uses Los Angeles as a mirror of a corrupt society." "Time Out"" "Tangy and rambunctious stuff." "Observer"" Gripping and atmospheric DAILY EXPRESS" The novel drips with all the atmospheric detail of a pre-Victorian murder mystery - "pea-soupers," dingy lanterns and laudanum--THE TIMES Gripping and atmospheric--DAILY EXPRESS Pyke is an intriguingly unfathomable character, and this is an excellent continuation of his dark journey--FINANCIAL TIMES Pyke is violent, vengeful and conflicted in the best tradition of detectives. His story takes in grisly murder and torture, and uses 1800s London in the same way that hard-boiled fiction uses Los Angeles as a mirror of a corrupt society--TIME OUT A story of high intrigue and low politics, brutal murder and cunning conspiracies ... Tangy and rambunctious stuff--OBSERVERshow more

About Andrew Pepper

Andrew Pepper is a lecturer in American Writing and Contemporary Crime Fiction at Queen's University, Belfast. His first novel, THE LAST DAYS OF NEWGATE, was shortlisted for the CWA NEW BLOOD AWARD. He lives in Belfast with his partner and children.show more

Rating details

396 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 22% (86)
4 31% (123)
3 27% (108)
2 14% (55)
1 6% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X