The Last Day

The Last Day : The Times Thriller of the Month

3.85 (28 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

_________________________________
'A beautifully realised and thought-provoking thriller.' THE TIMES

'A taut, thrilling runaround' GUARDIAN
_________________________________
A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.

2059. The world has stopped turning.

One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.

Only in a slim twilit region between them can life survive.

In an isolationist Britain, scientist Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man.

It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.

One that those in power will kill to conceal...
_________________________________

THE LAST DAY: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel's Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.
_________________________________
'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.'
LEE CHILD

'A tantalizing, suspenseful odyssey of frustration, deceit, treachery, torture, hope, despair and ingenious sleuthing... Murray has so thoroughly thought through the ramifications of his conceit and conjured up such a dramatic plot and stellar cast of characters that he might have set a new standard for such tales.'
WASHINGTON POST

'A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today.'
HARLAN COBEN

'I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.'
STEPHEN FRY

'To say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it'
SARA PASCOE

'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.'
KIRKUS

'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.'
BOOKLIST

'Dark, believable and brilliantly written'
JENNY COLGAN

'A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn't put this book down!'
CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX

'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page'
C.J. TUDOR
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 37mm | 648g
  • Hutchinson
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1786331918
  • 9781786331915
  • 1,571

Review Text

"[A]n atmosphere reminiscent of PD James’s dystopian classic The Children of Men and alternative history thrillers such as Len Deighton’s SS-GB. As with those novels, The Last Day investigates the “boiled frog” nature of totalitarianism, with Hunter Murray imagining what Britain succumbing to it would look and feel like. The result is a beautifully realised and thought provoking-thriller."
show more

Review quote

[A]n atmosphere reminiscent of PD James's dystopian classic The Children of Men and alternative history thrillers such as Len Deighton's SS-GB. As with those novels, The Last Day investigates the "boiled frog" nature of totalitarianism, with Hunter Murray imagining what Britain succumbing to it would look and feel like. The result is a beautifully realised and thought provoking-thriller. * The Times, Thriller of the Month * A fresh take on the dystopian thriller, to say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it * SARA PASCOE * A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today. * HARLAN COBEN * A taut, thrilling runaround... The Last Day is an impressive dystopian techno-thriller. Murray paints a grim picture of a draconian isolationist Britain, with some vivid descriptions of a much-changed London, and the novel's climax has a neat twist. * Guardian Books of the Month * I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterization will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement. * STEPHEN FRY *
show more

About Andrew Hunter Murray

Andrew Hunter Murray is a scriptwriter and fact-hunter for BBC2's QI. He co-hosts the podcast No Such Thing As A Fish, which has had 200 million downloads, and has toured the UK, Europe and Australia. He also writes jokes and journalism for Private Eye magazine, and hosts the Eye's podcast, Page 94.

The Last Day is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

28 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 14% (4)
4 61% (17)
3 21% (6)
2 4% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X