The Last Chronicle of Fairacre: "Changes at Fairacre", "Farewell to Fairacre", "Peaceful Retirement"

The Last Chronicle of Fairacre: "Changes at Fairacre", "Farewell to Fairacre", "Peaceful Retirement" : Changes at Fairacre, Farewell to Fairacre and A Peaceful Retirement

4.42 (64 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


An omnibus comprising the last three novels set in the downland village of Fairacre: CHANGES AT FAIRACRE, FAREWELL TO FAIRACRE and A PEACEFUL RETIREMENT. Village life in Fairacre revolves around the little feuds and big friendships enacted by the familiar and endearing characters. And so this much loved series comes to a close as Miss Read settles into retirement and decides to write a more

Product details

  • Paperback | 640 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 40mm | 340.19g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • New edition
  • b&w line illustrations
  • 0141004665
  • 9780141004662
  • 1,057,122

Author information

MISS READ's first book, VILLAGE SCHOOL (the first of the Fairacre novels), was published in 1955 and the final book in the series - which was also her last book of all - was A PEACEFUL RETIREMENT (included in this omnibus) published in more

Review Text

Dora Saint, professionally a teacher - better known to readers as 'Miss Read', the pseudonym she used as a novelist - began to write shortly after World War II, and is most fondly remembered for her village novels set in the Cotswolds, which caught to perfection the daily life of so many English rural communities before many of them began to lose their shops, buses, pubs and, sadly, much of their unique character. The changing history the novels describe spans more than 40 years, from the Fifties to the Nineties. They are not over-rosy pictures. Miss Read could be as astringent and down-to-earth as the people she wrote about; her books do preserve a period and way of life which, had its own satisfactions, compensations and sense of community; their comedies as well as their dramas. The Last Chronicle of Fairacre is an omnibus edition comprising the last three stories about Fairacre: Changes at Fairacre, Farewell to Faireacre, and A Peaceful Retirement. (Kirkus UK)show more

Rating details

64 ratings
4.42 out of 5 stars
5 52% (33)
4 42% (27)
3 5% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X