Last Christmas in Paris
37%
off

Last Christmas in Paris : A Novel of World War I

4.23 (227 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor has joined with Heather Webb to create this unforgettably romantic novel of the Great War.August 1914. England is at war. As Evie Elliott watches her brother, Will, and his best friend, Thomas Harding, depart for the front, she believes-as everyone does-that it will be over by Christmas, when the trio plan to celebrate the holiday among the romantic cafes of Paris.But as history tells us, it all happened so differently... Evie and Thomas experience a very different war. Frustrated by life as a privileged young lady, Evie longs to play a greater part in the conflict-but how?-and as Thomas struggles with the unimaginable realities of war he also faces personal battles back home where War Office regulations on press reporting cause trouble at his father's newspaper business. Through their letters, Evie and Thomas share their greatest hopes and fears-and grow ever fonder from afar. Can love flourish amid the horror of the First World War, or will fate intervene?Christmas 1968. With failing health, Thomas returns to Paris-a cherished packet of letters in hand-determined to lay to rest the ghosts of his past. But one final letter is waiting for him...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 23mm | 285g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • William Morrow Paperbacks
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062562681
  • 9780062562685
  • 12,614

Review quote

"Gaynor and Webb's first collaboration is beautifully told [...] the authors fully capture the characters' voices as each person is dramatically shaped by the war to end all wars." -- Booklist "Last Christmas in Paris is an extraordinary epistolary novel that explores the history and aftermath of the Great War in a sensitive, memorable and profoundly moving fashion. A book to savor, to share and discuss with friends, and above all to cherish." -- Jennifer Robson, International bestselling author of Goodnight from London and Somewhere in France "For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society comes another terrific epistolary historical novel that is simply unputdownable [...] this remarkable novel will undoubtedly go on my keeper shelf." -- Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of The Night the Lights Went Out "Humor, love, tragedy, and hope make for a moving, uplifting read. A winner!" -- Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network "Best-selling author Gaynor (A Memory of Violets) teams with historical novelist Webb (Rodin's Lover) to pen a moving and heartfelt story of love and bravery [...]" -- Library Journal (starred review)show more

About Hazel Gaynor

HAZEL GAYNOR is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of A Memory of Violets and The Girl Who Came Home, for which she received the 2015 RNA Historical Novel of the Year award. Her third novel The Girl from the Savoy was an Irish Times and Globe & Mail Canada bestseller, and was shortlisted for the BGE Irish Book Awards Popular Fiction Book of the Year. The Cottingley Secret and Last Christmas in Paris will be published in 2017. Hazel was selected by US Library Journal as one of 'Ten Big Breakout Authors' for 2015 and her work has been translated into several languages. Originally from Yorkshire, England, Hazel now lives in Ireland.show more

Rating details

227 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 48% (108)
4 36% (82)
3 11% (24)
2 4% (8)
1 2% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X