Landry Park

Landry Park

3.58 (3,447 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$9.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"Downton Abbey" meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet another debutante ball. But when she learns about the devastating impact the Gentry lifestyle--her lifestyle--is having on those less fortunate, her whole world is turned upside down. As Madeline begins to question everything she has been told, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty--her family and the estate she loves dearly--and desire. Fans of Ally Condie, Kiera Cass, Veronica Roth, and even Jane Austen will be enthralled by this breathtaking read.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 137 x 208 x 28mm | 363g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142425486
  • 9780142425480
  • 679,594

Review Text

"Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games." - VOYA

"A mélange of sci-fi inventions, well-written characters, and classic literary allusions." - The Christian Science Monitor

"This is a terrific mash-up of a Regency period romance with a dystopian tale that will intrigue teen readers, and introduce some important questions about the structure of modern society." - School Library Journal

"Hagen's debut is filled with luxurious language, swoon-worthy love interests, and exceptional world-building...this first book in a trilogy will appeal to fans of Diana Peterfreund's For Darkness Shows the Stars and Catherine Fisher's Incarceron." - School Library Journal

"Heated debates and similarly heated kisses fuel Madeline and David's will-they/won't-they relationship, tempering the social commentary with a bit of romantic drama." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

Review quote

"Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games." - VOYA "A mélange of sci-fi inventions, well-written characters, and classic literary allusions." - The Christian Science Monitor "This is a terrific mash-up of a Regency period romance with a dystopian tale that will intrigue teen readers, and introduce some important questions about the structure of modern society." - School Library Journal "Hagen's debut is filled with luxurious language, swoon-worthy love interests, and exceptional world-building...this first book in a trilogy will appeal to fans of Diana Peterfreund's For Darkness Shows the Stars and Catherine Fisher's Incarceron." - School Library Journal "Heated debates and similarly heated kisses fuel Madeline and David's will-they/won't-they relationship, tempering the social commentary with a bit of romantic drama." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

About Bethany Hagen

Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel. Find out more at www.bethanyhagen.com.
show more

Rating details

3,447 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 23% (788)
4 32% (1,113)
3 29% (1,009)
2 11% (385)
1 4% (152)

Our customer reviews

Madeline is your beautiful, wealthy gentry girl poised to inherit Landry Park. But when she stumbles upon a plot that will unravel all the secrets that her family has hidden from her, she realizes she must find the strength within to go against them or to be by their side. Landry Park is an intricate and beautifully written novel set in the far future where the Rootless perish and the Gentry flourish. I liked Madeline's character. She's not perfect, she knows she's weak, and in time she grows out of it. I like that she stands up for what she wants even though her family imprisons her. I didn't understand her attraction to David though. It felt too much like a crush..Even though there were two boys vying for her affection, I didn't understand Jude's place and that bothered me. The twists and turns in the far end did make this book better, but I just wish all the world building was placed in the beginning. I did enjoy the fluid writing style and reminded me of Darkness Shows the Stars too. I had some issues with this one. Where was the history of all the energy uses? It was only a sprinking of how it happened. A better timeline of how the world would have helped me so much. I was scrambling to find out what year it was set in. One main point I missed was the plot. Was trying to find who hurt Cara the entire story? Or was it Madeline trying to get out of her family's legacy? Because I felt lost as to what the main story was. Why were the Rootless taken to be the lowest caste? What did the Rootless do to deserve such treatment? What did they do that was so badly? I needed answers about this war. I also don't understand why there was so much emphasis on the balls and her society life. So I'm guessing this is why it's being compared to The Selection? Also just a warning, that things start to get interesting at around the first hundred pages. Overall, a good enough dystopian read if you like love triangles, ball gowns, and a family conspiracy are your thing, then this one is for you!show more
by Giselle SM
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X