The Land at the End of the World

The Land at the End of the World : A Novel

3.96 (1,474 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, one of the twentieth century's most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World-in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa-recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator's evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 15mm | 180g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • black & white illustrations, frontispiece
  • 0393342336
  • 9780393342338
  • 215,162

Review quote

"Magnificent prose, dense with striking and unexpected imagery...I was so seized by the novel's spirit that I was motivated to turn to my own. I wanted to imitate Lobo Antunes, and I failed." -- Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer "Read Antonio Lobo Antunes' The Land at the End of the World, and you, like the protagonist, may never forget the hallucinatory depravity, degradation and corruption of an unjust war." -- Kai Maristed - Los Angeles Times "Lobo Antunes crafts macabre fever dreams as if possessed by an abler Poe, and few other novelists have his Bellovian ability to see both deeply and minutely, to render the world, the fallen world, as if never rendered before." -- William Giraldi - Daily Beast "[Antunes] has created a memorably unhinged narrator, and [Costa] manages to capture, perfectly and faithfully, the bitter, hallucinatory and increasingly desperate tone of his monologue." -- Larry Rohter - New York Times
show more

About Antonio Lobo Antunes

Antonio Lobo Antunes, born in 1942 in Benfica, is considered to be Portugal's greatest living writer. The author of more than twenty novels, including What Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?, he has won many awards and makes his home in Lisbon. MARGARET JULL COSTA is a three-time winner of the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation
Prize. For New Directions, she has translated works by Rafael Chirbes, Javier
Marias, Fernando Pessoa, Eca de Queiros, and Enrique Vila-Matas.
show more

Rating details

1,474 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 34% (508)
4 38% (558)
3 20% (293)
2 5% (78)
1 3% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X