Lalani of the Distant Sea

Lalani of the Distant Sea

3.95 (2,429 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.
Not ordering to /external/GR/29429859? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

"Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read."-Kirkus (starred review)

"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder."-Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney's Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task-she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest-how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk's Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 35mm | 553g
  • Greenwillow Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062747274
  • 9780062747273
  • 458,041

Back cover copy

Sometimes you choose yourself.

Lalani Sarita faces an impossible future. Her mother has fallen ill and is unlikely to recover. Drum and Kul--her stepfather and stepbrother--are cruel and vindictive overlords. There is only cleaning and cooking and mending and errands--for someone such as Lalani, life on Sanlagita involves little else.

Lalani Sarita faces an impossible task.She only wanted to save Toppi. She only wanted to help her best friend, Veyda. But everything is her fault. Everything. The rain--coming now in torrents and causing unspeakable disaster--is all her fault.

So Lalani does what only one girl on the island of Sanlagita has ever done before. She slips into a small scouting boat and sets out across the Veiled Sea, looking for a different future. That other girl never returned. Will Lalani?

Sometimes you choose yourself.
show more

Review Text

"Inspired by Filipino folklore, Newbery Award̶winner Kelly has woven her narrative with a mythology that is rich and delicious. . . . Readers will be cheering for Lalani in her unlikely quest to save her family and friends, using only the power of her wits, courage, and empathy." Booklist (starred review)
show more

Review quote

"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder." -- -Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me "With lyricism and elegance, Erin Entrada Kelly weaves a rich tale. Powerful and gripping." -- Soman Chainani, author of The School for Good and Evil series "Unlikely but determined heroine Lalani is lovably loyal, kind-hearted, and optimistic even as she faces unspeakable dangers, and her relentless spirit makes her a worthy protagonist in this triumphant tale about fighting for the people one loves and staying true to oneself." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Newbery Medalist Kelly writes a heroic fantasy about making choices, going on a quest, and conquering evil. Scattered throughout the novel are short, beautifully illustrated second-person vignettes allowing readers to imagine they are the mythical creatures Lalani encounters . . . Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Inspired by Filipino folklore, Newbery Award winner Kelly has woven her narrative with a mythology that is rich and delicious. . . . Readers will be cheering for Lalani in her unlikely quest to save her family and friends, using only the power of her wits, courage, and empathy." -- Booklist (starred review)
show more

About Erin Entrada Kelly

New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First, a New York Times bestseller, Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick, Kirkus Reviews Best Book, and School Library Journal Best Book. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. www.erinentradakelly.com
show more

Rating details

2,429 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 31% (765)
4 39% (948)
3 24% (574)
2 5% (112)
1 1% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X