Lady Margaret Beaufort and her Professors of Divinity at Cambridge

Lady Margaret Beaufort and her Professors of Divinity at Cambridge : 1502 to 1649

By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


Three leading scholars examine one of the oldest professorships, the Lady Margaret's Chair of Divinity at Cambridge, plotting its development in the context of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century history. The current Lady Margaret's Professor Graham Stanton sets the scene with an introduction briefly considering theology at Cambridge before 1502 and after 1649. In the two main chapters (delivered as lectures in March 2002 to celebrate the five-hundredth anniversary of the Chair) Richard Rex - an authority on John Fisher, first holder of the Chair - deploys new evidence to propose changes in the list of early professors (including the removal of Erasmus's name) and shows how their appointment and dismissal reflected the vagaries of the Reformation; and Patrick Collinson investigates how the Elizabethan and early Stuart professors continued to be caught up in the religious and political turmoil of the times. There is a complete list of holders from 1502 to the more

Product details

  • Paperback | 104 pages
  • 122 x 182 x 8mm | 117.93g
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1 b/w illus.
  • 0521533104
  • 9780521533102
  • 1,443,510

Review quote

"All in all this little book offers an agreeable read, and the revision of the list of the early professors is both valuable and striking." Elisabeth Leedham-Green, Cambridge University Libraryshow more

About Patrick Collinson

Patrick Collinson is Regius Professor Emeritus of Modern History, University of Cambridge. Richard Rex is University Lecturer in Church History at the Faculty of Divinity, University of Cambridge. He is also Director of Studies in History at Queens' College, more

Table of contents

Frontispiece; 1. Introduction Graham Stanton; 2. Lady Margaret Beaufort and her Professorship: 1502 to 1559 Richard Rex; 3. Some Lady Margaret's Professors from 1559 to 1649 Patrick Collinson; 4. more